Publishing Content

Moving content between the three basic workflow states (private, pending review, and published) is very easy.

By default, content items are typically created in the Private state. To Publish a content item, simply click the State status indicator on the green menu bar.  Depending on your permissions, you can either 1) directly Publish the content, or 2) Submit the item for publication so a site manager (someone with the "can review" permission) can publish the content for you. Once published, the item will be viewable on your site and included in the navigation, unless you choose to exclude it from the navigation.  (See Related content for an explanation of permissions and available workflow states.)

 Publishing States

Retracting/Sending Content Back to the Author

In some cases, you may want to change a published item’s state back to Private.  This works well when you want to remove a page from public view temporarily.  When you are ready, you can then make it available to the public again.

To hide a page from public view, you simply change its publishing state, as follows:

  1. Navigate to the content (page, link, image, etc.), that you want to hide from public view.
  2. On the green bar, click the Publish status indicator and then select Retract or Send back from the drop-down menu.
  3. A message at the top of the page confirms that the publishing state of the page has been changed.
     

[top]