Skip to main content

The Bowles Award, established by the Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies, University of North Carolina School of Medicine, honors distinguished researchers whohave made significant contributions to our understanding of the causes, prevention and/or treatment of alcohol use disorder and alcohol abuse.

Introduced in 1997, the annual Bowles Award honors the best and the brightest in alcohol research. Each year, an awardee will be invited to visit the Center, invited to present a lecture, and meet with our investigators and trainees to share knowledge and innovative ideas. Award recipients will receive a $5,000 prize, an award plaque, paid travel expenses, as well as an acknowledgement on the Center website in perpetuity.

We invite your nominations to ensure that recipients of this award represent the best minds in the field from around the world. If you have a colleague or friend deserving of this prestigious award, please send your letter of nomination and CV of the candidate to Dr. A. Leslie Morrow at.

Recipients of the award are chosen by a committee of researchers at the UNC Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies as well as our external advisory board, and awards are presented each spring during our seminar series.

Previous Award Recipients

2019 Markus Heilig, MD, PhD

2018 Tamara Phillips, PhD

2017 Scott Swartzwelder, PhD

2016 Nora Volkow, MD

2015 A. Leslie Morrow, PhD

2014 David Lovinger, PhD

2013 Adolf Pfefferbaum, PhD and Edith V. Sullivan, PhD

2012 Kathleen K. Sulik, PhD

2011 Robert O. Messing, PhD

2010 Subhash C. Pandey, PhD

2009 Boris Tabakoff, PhD

2008 Linda Spear, PhD

2007 Richard Olsen, PhD

2006 Fulton Crews, PhD

2005 Kathleen Grant, PhD

2004 John Crabbe, PhD

2002 Ting-Kai Li, MD

2001 R. Adron Harris, PhD

2000 George Koob, PhD

1999 Ivan Diamond, MD

1998 Jacquelyn Maher, PhD

1997 Hidekazu Tsukamoto, DVM, PhD