Skip to main content

MAFS 2017

The UNC Medical Alumni Faculty Scholarship is an annually funded scholarship supported by loyal alumni working at the UNC School of Medicine and the UNC Medical Center. Established in 2013, this generous award helps recruit the brightest students by offering four years of support.

Recruitment is a key priority for the School, as every year UNC loses top students to peer institutions who offer more competitive scholarship award packages.

Beginning in 2021, alumni also began fundraising for an additional scholarship specifically for an underrepresented in medicine student (URM). This push will not only address our continued need for scholarship support but also will solidify our focus on URM admissions.

The UNC Medical Alumni Faculty Scholarship currently provides $15,000.00 towards tuition for one year as well as $2,500.00 in annual enrichment funds for four years. Enrichment funds may be used for research projects, travel or other expenses related to education such as study materials, international travel, residency interview travel, etc.

You can help us and honor your own UNC medical education. Your participation is critical in this annual campaign to fund the prestigious UNC Medical Alumni Faculty Scholarship.

As the UNC School of Medicine works to expand its medical school classes, your UNC Medical Alumni Faculty Scholarship helps us attract top-ranked students. Thanks to your generosity, we have proudly welcomed nine Medical Alumni Faculty Scholars to date.

  1. Helen Powell, SOM class of ’18, UNC BS ’14; Burlington, NC
  2. Ashley Cairns, SOM class of ’19, UNC BSPH ’15; Chapel Hill, NC
  3. Mackenzie Davis, SOM class of ’20, UNC BA ’16; Colorado Springs, CO
  4. Lauren Ellis, SOM class of ’21, Duke BS ’16; Portland, OR
  5. Christopher Sefton, SOM class of ’22, UNC BS ’18; Cary, NC
  6. Aneesh Rahangdale, SOM class of ’23; Tallahassee, FL
  7. Ella Branch, SOM class of ’24; Charlotte, NC
  8. Sammy Chouffani el Fassi, SOM class of ’25; Mooresville, NC
  9. Rachel Hardison, SOM class of ’25; Charlottesville, VA

Thank you for the many ways you serve, support and represent the UNC School of Medicine and the UNC Medical Center.

Make a gift today to support the UNC Medical Alumni Faculty Scholarship

Giving is easy via payroll deduction or online using the GIVE NOW button above. If you have any questions, please contact Jeanine Simmons with the UNC Health Foundation at 919.843.0846 or

Hear more about the scholarship impact from past recipient Dr. Helen Powell: