David M Cowherd, MD '81

2015 Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award recipient

David Cowherd

“Few men have made [as much of an] impact to the health care of the people in and around Moore County as Dr. David Cowherd.”

That’s what Andy Kiser, MD ‘92, wrote in his letter recommending Dr. Cowherd for this year’s Distinguished Medical Alumni Award in the Community category.

Dr. Cowherd, a member of the UNC School of Medicine class of 1981, has been practicing in Pinehurst since 1987. When he arrived to join the Pinehurst Medical Clinic, he was the only physician in the practice trained in cardiology. In the more than 25 years since then, he has built and expanded Interventional Cardiology services in the Sandhills region to a level recognized for excellence statewide.

As David Bruton, MD ‘61 wrote, Dr. Cowherd has done so with an unwavering focus on patient care.  “Another achievement that must be noted is the way that he was able to keep all of the competing medical entities in the community working together during this time of growth and change in medical care. David constantly refocused all on the care of the patient and encouraged everyone to subvert their individual desires and concerns.”

Dr. Cowherd is a respected member of the community in Pinehurst and was instrumental in the planning and fundraising that led to the state-of-the-art Reid Heart Center: The FirstHealth Cardiac & Vascular Institute, which opened in 2011. In fact, Dr. Cowherd performed the facility’s first cardiac catheterization 24 years after he also performed the first such procedure at Moore Regional Hospital.  

Dr. Cowherd’s colleagues call him a “visionary, innovator and humanitarian.”

Randolph Chitwood, MD, Director of the East Carolina Heart Institute, wrote that Dr. Cowherd practices with “the highest levels of both clinical skills and compassion for his patients.”

This, along with his innumerable contributions to the quality of health care offered in Moore County and the surrounding community, have earned Dr. David Cowherd one of this year’s Distinguished Medical Alumni Awards.