Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring Awards Ceremony

January 15 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Please join the Office of Graduate Education and the Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development in congratulating 10 outstanding faculty for Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring.  They will be recognized on Tuesday, January 15th at  2 pm in 1131 Bioinformatics.  The event begins with a keynote address by Dr. Anna Sokac, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Baylor College of Medicine.  Dr. Sokac is a Master Facilitator for the National Research Mentoring Network’s (NRMN) Entering Mentoring curriculum.  The title of her talk is “The good mentor’s power to tackle our most urgent scientific challenges”. Please join us for the seminar and award presentations followed by a reception. ~Jean Cook, Anna O’Connell, and Jessica Harrell


The award recipients are:

Kathleen Caron Chair, Department of Cell Biology and Physiology
Henrik Dohlman Sanford Steelman Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Dorothy Erie Department of Chemistry
Chris Mack Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Ben Major Department of Cell Biology and Physiology
Gary Pielak Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biophysics.
Matt Redinbo Department of Chemistry
Jeff Sekelsky Departments of Biology and Genetics
Brian Strahl Oliver Smithies Investigator, Vice-Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Joan Taylor Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Associate Director, McAllister Institute



January 15
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Category:


Bioinformatics 1131
130 Mason Farm Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27514 United States