Skip to main content

The Office of Faculty Governance at UNC is pleased to announce the 2017 Chair of the Faculty candidates: Leslie Parise and Lloyd Kramer. Voting takes place on April 7th!


Leslie Parise is professor and chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics in the School of Medicine and a member of the Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and the McAllister Heart Institute. She is currently serving on the Faculty Executive Committee (2011-present), the Faculty Council (2011-present, ex officio), the Financial Exigency and Program Change Committee (2011-18) and the Advisory Committee for the Chancellor’s Science STEM Scholar’s Program (2013-present). She served on the vice-chancellor’s Industry Funding Model Task Force (2012-13), the Hettleman Prize Committee (2008-10) and co-chaired of the Quality Enhancement Plan Committee for Undergraduate Education (2014-16). She has also served on numerous advisory and review committees within the School of Medicine. Her research and teaching focus on the molecular mechanisms of cardiovascular disease and cancer.

Lloyd Kramer is a professor of history and director of Carolina Public Humanities. He is a former chair of the History Department. He currently serves on the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee and has previously served on the UNC-system Faculty Assembly (2008-14), the Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards (2010-13), the Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty (2011-12), the Faculty Executive Committee (2003-08), the Faculty Council (2003-08 ex officio, 2010-14), the Faculty Athletics Committee (2003-07), the Educational Policy Committee (2001-02), and the Faculty Welfare Committee (1998-99), in addition to numerous other internal search and review committees. His teaching and other academic work focuses on European history, transnational cultural exchanges, the history of nationalism, and the evolving role of the Humanities in modern education.

More information about the 2017 faculty elections

On April 7, 2017, all members of the Voting Faculty will receive an email with a unique, individualized link to the balloting website. The ballot email will carry the subject line “Faculty Elections Ballot 2017.”

To vote, simply click the balloting link and proceed through the pages to make your selections for each race for which you are eligible to vote. (The ballot will only offer you the races for which you are eligible to vote.) At the end, hit “submit,” and your vote will be registered. The deadline to submit your ballot is 11:59 p.m. on April 19, 2017.

If you have questions about your eligibility to vote, please review the criteria in § 1-4. Voting in the Faculty Code of University Government at this link. If you still have questions, please contact our office at 919-962-2146.