George F. Sheldon, MD, Award

Since 2000, the Department of Surgery has recognized a fourth-year medical student who has demonstrated outstanding academic and clinical achievement, and who possesses personal characteristics that promise a future leadership role in surgery.  Originally named the Hugh Williamson Award, it was renamed in 2006 to honor George F. Sheldon, MD, who chaired the UNC Department of Surgery from 1984 to 2001.

Prior recipients are:

2000-2001 Michael Houston
2001-2002 Eric Volckmann
2002-2003 Lindsee McPhail
2003-2004 Ian Buchanan
2004-2005 Jennifer Nelson
2005-2006 Jeff Dehmer
2006-2007 Scott Moore
2007-2008 Staci Beamer
2008-2009 Mohammed Zayed
2009-2010 Trista Day Snyder Reid
2010-2011 Lauren Allen
2011-2012 Mamie Groomes
Sean McNally