Skip to main content

The School of Medicine proudly recognizes faculty members for their accomplishments in teaching, research, and patient care as well as service to the School of Medicine.

Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecturer

Every year an outstanding School of Medicine faculty member is selected to present the Norma Berryhill Lecture. The selection of the Norma Berryhill Lecturer is meant to honor a member of the faculty whose accomplishments have added distinction to the Medical School.

Jefferson-Pilot Fellowships in Academic Medicine

Jefferson-Pilot Fellows are selected annually and the recipient receives $20,000 over a four-year period to be used at the discretion of the recipient for the support of their scholarly endeavors.

Dr. James W. Woods Junior Faculty Awards

This award supports research and scholarship to retain promising young members of the medical school clinical faculty.

H. Fleming Fuller Award

The Fuller Award recognizes members of the medical staff who demonstrate the qualities embodied in Dr. Fuller’s lifelong dedication to the highest standards of patient care, teaching and community.

Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Awards

Recipients of this award have demonstrated empathy for patients and their families, effectiveness in listening to and communicating with our patients and families; advocacy for and demonstration of the highest standards of patient care and maintained exemplary professional and interpersonal interactions with colleagues, staff, patients, and visitors.

Kenan Distinguished Professorships

UNC faculty members may be named by the University as prestigious Sarah Graham Kenan Distinguished Professor, William Rand Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professors and Kenan Distinguished Professors.

Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorship

The Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorships are intended to honor mid-career faculty with a track record of substantial leadership in teaching medical students as well as educational innovation.

Academy of Educators Teaching Awards

The eight teaching awards annually recognize the importance of excellence in medical student teaching. They seek to increase the prestige of great teachers and make teaching a more viable part of a faculty member’s career path.

Distinguished Medical Alumni Awards

Each year, the UNC School of Medicine celebrated exemplary alumni and faculty with its Distinguished Alumni Awards. The awards include two Distinguished Medical Alumnus Awards, the Medical Alumni Distinguished Faculty Award, and the Distinguished Service Award.

Jeffrey Houpt Distinguished Investigator Award

The award supports recruitment and retention of senior-level, tenure-track researchers. Nominations will be considered on a rolling basis for the Jeffrey Houpt Distinguished Investigator Award.

School of Medicine Nursing Recognition Awards

The award recognizes outstanding achievement by nursing professionals. It serve as tangible recognition of the countless vital contributions nurses make in support of the patient care, teaching, research and public service missions of the School of Medicine.