Skip to main content

UNC Hospitals

Over the past few years, the Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development has worked closely with Dr. Samantha Meltzer-Brody in support of faculty well-being efforts. Dr. Meltzer-Brody led the creation of the Taking Care of Our Own Program and the Integrated Emotional Support Program at the UNC Medical Center and School of Medicine. She now serves as the Executive Medical Director of the new Integrated Well-Being Program.

In response to the 2016 Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Faculty Engagement Survey, 29% of UNC School of Medicine faculty indicated experiencing one or more symptoms of burnout. Soon thereafter, the UNC School of Medicine made a commitment to include wellness as a critical metric in our collective performance as an institution and adopted the Quadruple Aim which aims to improve provider work life in addition to the traditional aims of enhancing the patient experience, improving population health, and reducing costs.

To track faculty well-being, the UNC School of Medicine launched the Well-Being Index, an online self-assessment tool that measures stress in just nine questions. Upon taking the self-assessment, users receive immediate, confidential feedback on their overall well-being as compared to peers, and access to targeted resources aligned to the risk dimensions. De-identified data gathered from the Index provide important metrics for the institution and allows for assessment of our effectiveness in addressing these issues. Now, two years after the School of Medicine’s original launch, the Well-Being Index is available to more than 32,000 individuals across all entities within the UNC Health Care System.

In 2019, the School of Medicine has launched a new Well-Being Committee to liaise with and complement the Integrated Well-Being Program’s efforts. The Committee, chaired by Dr. Tim Farrell, Professor of Surgery, will support efforts to communicate effective interventions, disseminate well-being metrics, and champion a culture of well-being across the School of Medicine’s Clinical and Basic Science departments.

The School of Medicine Well-Being Committee is formalizing an organizational structure comprised of three sub-committees – research faculty, clinical faculty, and scholarship, chaired by Drs. Ilona Jaspers, Deanna Sasaki-Adams, and Susie Martinelli, respectively – and an executive committee.

The aim is to have 100% representation from each of the School of Medicine’s departments to ensure efforts are responsive to the well-being needs of the faculty at large and complementary to efforts at the system level.

Quadruple AimWhat is the Integrated Well-Being Program?

The Integrated Well-Being Program is a partnership between UNC Physicians, the UNC School of Medicine, and UNC Health Care led by Dr. Samantha Meltzer-Brody, Executive Medical Director, and Scott Doak, System Vice President of Human Resources for UNC Health Care. The program, which spans UNC Health Care’s owned hospitals, Physician Network, and the UNC School of Medicine, builds on the various wellness programs already in place, and synergizes efforts to focus on the primary drivers of burnout. Together, partners aim to develop a comprehensive, system-wide approach to identify the best tools already in use at each entity and find innovative ways to improve both Epic@UNC and the flow of practice, with the goal of meeting the fourth arm of the Quadruple Aim: preventing burnout and improving work life.

Dr. Samantha Meltzer-Brody

The well-being of our faculty is vital to achieving the mission of the UNC School of Medicine. The Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development is a tremendous support and advocate of this important work.”

– Dr. Samantha Meltzer-Brody, Executive Medical Director, UNC Integrated Well-Being Program


It is exciting that there is uniform support from the UNC School of Medicine, the Health Care system and the Physician Network for improving the well-being of faculty and staff across the UNC system.
The UNC School of Medicine Well-Being Committee will work within the broader framework to represent the particular needs of clinical and basic science faculty.”

-Dr. Tim Farrell, Chair, School of Medicine Well-Being Committee