Skip to main content

Eight outstanding nurses were recently recognized as winners of the 2015 School of Medicine Nursing Recognition Awards. These awards were established as a way to express the faculty’s respect and appreciation for nurses whose personal contributions have made a significant contribution to patient care. Each award includes a $1,000 scholarship to be used over a three year period for professional development.

Inpatient Nurse Award:

  • Tonya Britton, RN, Emergency Room, Emergency Services
  • Jenna Brogden, BSN, RN, CN II, Newborn Critical Care Center, Children’s Services
  • Janet Burge, BSN, RN, OCN, CN III, 4 Oncology, Oncology Services

Outpatient Nurse Award:

  • Annette Plato, RN, CN II, Radiation Oncology
  • Laurie Yopp, RN, CN II, SOM Med Digestive

APP/Special Services Award:

  • Kathy Higgins, MSN, CNM-APP, OB/GYN Midwifery
  • Carol Hubbard, MSN, RN, CPNP, Adv Prac Prov Level 2-Spec, SOM Peds Admin

Nurse Manager Award:

  • Lana Amend, BSN, RN, PSM III-OP, Rheumatology