John Buse, MD, PhD, has received the 2019 Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award given by the American Diabetes Association. This award recognizes exceptional contributions in patient-oriented clinical outcomes research that have had a significant impact on diabetes prevention and treatment.

John Buse, MD, PhD
John Buse, MD, PhD

“I am honored to receive this award, but the credit really goes to our study participants, coordinators, collaborators, referring providers and this institution,” said Buse.  “We have a first-class clinical trials unit, designing and delivering the highest quality clinical research that ultimately impacts patient care. This honor belongs to many!”

Buse is the Verne S. Caviness Distinguished Professor, chief of the division of endocrinology in the department of medicine, director of the UNC Diabetes Care Center, director of the NC Translational and Clinical Sciences (NC TraCS) Institute and executive associate dean for clinical research at the University of North Carolina. Embodying excellence and innovative leadership, Buse has led or participated in more than 200 clinical studies and dozens of epidemiologic analyses and translational projects, and he attributes his success to others.

His breadth of investigation ranges from early stage clinical characterization of new molecular entities to seminal trials, including critical drug safety outcomes studies. He is renowned for co-chairing the ACCORD trial, which demonstrated a lack of benefit of more intensive goals for glycemia, blood pressure and lipids, and for chairing the LEADER trial, which was the first demonstration of the broad effect of the GLP-1 receptor agonist liraglutide to reduce cardiovascular events and mortality in patients with type 2 diabetes at high cardiovascular risk.

Since 2015, Buse has been listed among Thompson Reuters “Highly Cited Researchers,” recognizing the top 1 percent of global investigators. He is a widely sought lecturer, consultant, collaborator and clinical trial investigator.

Buse will be honored at the 79th ADA Scientific Sessions, along with Elizabeth J. Mayer-Davis, PhD, who is the recipient of the ADA’s 2019 Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology. Mayer-Davis is the Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Nutrition and Medicine, and chair of the department of nutrition at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health and the UNC School of Medicine.