• Congratulations Genius and AM Report Attendance Winners!

      Congratulations to Dr. Duncan Vincent for winning block 12 attendance award! We also announced the Block 7-12 Genius Award recently- congratulations to Dr. Julia Hughes for her outstanding performance on AM report image challenge and MKSAP questions. Dr. Hughes will receive a copy of the Netter’s Internal Medicine book authored by our very own Drs. Runge and Greganti!

  • The 4 winners.  From left to right:  Dr. Joseph Bumgarner; Dr. Christina Prather; Dr. Katie Richards; Dr. Duncan Vincent

    2013 Resident Research Day Awards

    28 residents presented their academic work in poster format during our 2013 UNC Internal Medicine Residency Research Day on Friday, May 24th.

  • The Farmer Award winners (from left to right):  Dr. Sally Wood; Dr. Andy Donohoe; Dr. Ben Appenheimer; Dr. Marc Piper.

    RESIDENT AWARDS 2012-2013

    The Farmer Award winners (from left to right): Dr. Sally Wood; Dr. Andy Donohoe; Dr. Ben Appenheimer; Dr. Marc Piper. NEY AWARD: Drs. Brooks Vance and Dan Matthews Presented to a Senior Resident whose qualities exemplify the standards set by Dr. Robert L. Ney as a person and physician. The award recognizes a commitment to academic excellence, a compassionate approach to patients, … Continued

  • Block 10 Morning Report Winners

    Congratulations to our Block 10 Morning Report Winners! We had a rare 4-way tie for the Attendance Award between Kathy Sweeney, Shannon Mahoney, Brad Barnes, and Katy Tsai. All 4 attended at least 10 morning reports and had a 100% attendance percentage! In Shannon’s case, she came to 10 morning reports despite the fact that she was a Med A intern, which is definitely going above … Continued

  • Congratulations to Dr. April Edwards!

    April is one of two North Carolina resident physicians to receive a Project HOPE scholarship for the 2013-14 year. With the Project HOPE scholarship, April will travel to the Dominican Republic for a month long global health experience.

  • Congratulations to our Block 9 Morning Report Winners!

    Dr. Charles Vorkas wins the Attendance Award and Dr. Liz Upton wins the Genius Award.

  • Block 6 Morning Report Winners

      Congratulations to Dr. Nicole Harlan for winning the Block 6 Morning Report Attendance Award, and to Dr. Dan Matthews and Dr. Chris Bowman for winning the Block 6 Morning Report Genius Award.

  • Medicine Residents at the 2013 ACP Meeting in Durham, NC.


    Congratulations to all of the residents who presented a poster at the recent North Carolina ACP meeting, held at the Washington Duke Inn on February 8-9. Dr. Adrian Austin won first place in the Clinical Vignette category. We are very proud of all of you!