UNC School of Medicine Match Day 2019.

The UNC School of Medicine celebrated Match Day on March 5, 2019, a nationally recognized day when medical students open sealed envelopes to learn where they will spend the next several years as resident-physicians. The complex process matches program preferences with the preferences of the nation’s graduating medical students, and the ceremonies are coordinated to occur on the same date at the same time throughout the country.

The Department of Medicine welcomed 35 residents to the UNC Internal Medicine Program.


Department of Medicine

2019-2020 Categorical Residents

Ahad Abi South Carolina
Leslie Appleton Arizona
Casey Birschbach
Harish Eswaran Baylor
Nick Fabry MCW
Juan Carlos Ferre Martinez, Puerto Rico
Kristian Figueras Ponce
Aaron Fried Creighton
Michael Gelinas Wake Forest
Andrew Gilmore Geisinger
Mason Jeffries Tufts
Corey Ketchem Louisville
Jack Lu
Gabriel Lupu Brown
Rafat Mahmood New York
José Martinez Columbia
Kim Mournighan UNC
Courtney Mullins Mississippi
Moriah Muscaro Toledo
Leah Nixon Alabama
Claire Nugent Louisville
Sumana Reddy Texas Tech
Michael Rydberg Chicago
Samantha Steinberg South Florida
Maura Thornton Georgetown
Zach Tugaoen Ohio State
Matt Van Dongen Eastern Virginia
Katie Vogel Tufts
Justin Woods Indiana


Preliminary Residents​

Toney Dyer South Carolina Radiology
Pooja Karunkonda Pittsburgh Rad Oncology
Alana Kornspun Mount Sinai Neurology
Abigail Lin John Hopkins Radiology
Helen Powell UNC Dermatology
Tim Zimmerman UT Houston Dermatology