Skip to main content
The Department of Medicine’s new website now integrates its division sites and educational programs, including news and profile content.

The department of medicine is pleased to recognize that the long-awaited web migration to WordPress is now complete. As our UNC School of Medicine IT web experts helped with the transition to this new platform, we were able to use the opportunity to redesign the website for a friendlier browsing experience. We think the result is a cleaner design that recognizes and aligns each division specialty and our educational programs more clearly with the department, featuring a consistent top navigation bar. Faculty profiles also now reside at the department directory level, with links from each division site.

For the redesign, it was important to keep the department’s tripartite mission clear and consistent for visitors moving from one division’s page to another. Therefore, you’ll notice left navigation bars appear for each division with consistent labeling to provide predictable site-wide direction.

For some divisions, welcome information was created for division introduction pages. For others, we carefully considered how to recognize divisions in relation to affiliated centers, without detracting from established center sites and user experience. The new design also allows us to tag news stories so that they appear on the front page of the department website as well as the appropriate division’s news sections.

While there’s still much work to do, we would like to thank the countless people across the department who helped make this a success. We thank you all for your patience and support, particularly our supportive division communicators. If you should notice broken links, or experience any other issues with the new site, please email You can find the department website here:

Remember–if you have an idea for a podcast, a news story, or something you’d like to include in the department newsletter, please contact us!

Your department communications team,

Kristen Hendrickson
Deb Hepp
Kim Morris