Skip to main content
Left to right: Monty Williams, Daniel Duddleston, Hillary Spangler, Mike Croglio, and Katie Allen.

The UNC Internal Medicine Residency Program welcomes the following chief residents who will serve during the 2021-2022 academic year. The administrative chief resident is a position of distinction, professionalism and leadership. These appointed physicians will lead and mentor residents, as they learn to recognize the needs of the department and hospital.

Inpatient Chief: Michael Croglio, MD

Michael Croglio was born in Syracuse, New York. He attended Georgetown University for his undergraduate degree and Stony Brook University for medical school, where he was inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society. Michael will pursue training in pulmonary and critical care medicine.

Inpatient Chief: “Monty” De-Vaughn Williams, MD

Monty Williams was born in Boynton Beach, FL, and attended the University of Florida in Gainesville where he received a degree in food science and human nutrition. He remained at UF for medical school and was elected into the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Outpatient Chief: Katie Allen, MD

Katie Allen‘s hometown is Ocala, FL. While Carolina blue and Michael Jordan were prominent in her childhood, she stayed in state for college, attending the University of South Florida in Tampa for both undergraduate and medical school. Katie will pursue training in general medicine.

WakeMed Chief: Daniel Duddleston, MD

Daniel Duddleston was born in Jackson, MS. He graduated with a degree in physics from the University of Mississippi in Oxford, MS, which fostered his fascination with black holes. He then moved back to Jackson to attend medical school at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. Daniel will pursue training in cardiology.

Medicine-Pediatrics Chief:  Hillary Spangler, MD

Hillary Spangler‘s hometown is Asheboro, NC. Hillary studied nutrition and biology at North Carolina State University before entering medical school at UNC, where she worked with the Code Sepsis Project within the UNC Health System and was recognized as a Sepsis Hero in 2016.