Congratulations to our faculty who have secured new grants in the Department of Medicine, July 1 – September 1.

Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Division of General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology

Division of Geriatric Medicine

  • The UNC Center for Aging and Health has received a five-year, $3.75 million grant from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) to provide geriatrics training throughout North Carolina. Read more.

Division of Hospital Medicine

  • Michael Craig, MD, MPH, SFHM has a UNC IHQI grant for “Reducing Low-Value Care Through Syncope Standardization.”
  • Rick Hobbs, MD won the 2019 Felix C Harvey Award for $75K and the 2019 Kickstart Venture Services Award for $50K for the development of an augmented reality game to mobilize hospitalized children and eventually adults. Learn more.

Division of Infectious Diseases

  • Fellow Emily Ciccone, MD, MHS, was awarded $26.8K  from the Thrasher Research Fund for the “STewardship for Acute Respiratory Illness (STAR): Expanding Access to Rapid Biomarker Testing” project.
  • Jonathan Juliano, MD, MSPH, (PI) was awarded $58.7K from RTI International for “Understanding National Malaria Trends Using High Throughput Molecular Analysis.”
  • David Margolis, MD, (PI) received a supplementary award for the Collaboratory of AIDS Researchers for Eradication for $197K from the NIH National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.
  • J. Victor Garcia-Martinez, PhD (PI) won a three-year $2.9 million from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation for “Ultra-long acting in-situ forming implant (ISFI) for antiretroviral drug delivery, incl. EFdA.”
  • Sonia Napravnik, PhD (PI) received a $209.5K award from the University of Pittsburgh for “Evaluation of the Efficacy and Mechanisms of a Novel Intervention for Chronic Pain Tailored to People Living with HIV.”
  • David van Duin, MD, PhD, (PI) received a four-year $400K grant from the National Marrow Donor Program for the “Modulation of CAR-T Cell Therapy Efficacy by the Intestinal Microbiome in Patients with Leukemia and Lymphoma.”

Division of Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine

  • Robert S. Hagan, MD, PhD, received a Discovery Grant from the Department of Defense for “CRISPR Screen to Identify Neutrophil Regulators of Interferon-Gamma; Signaling in Acute Lung Injury.”  Dr. Hagan also received a K08 award for “Macrophage and Monocyte TBK1 Function in Host Defense against Influenza.”
  • Christine L. Vigeland, MD, won a K08 award for “Targeting Glutamine Metabolism during the Development and Resolution of Acute Lung Injury.”

Division of Rheumatology, Allergy & Immunology