Skip to main content

Beth L. Jonas, M.D., a leading rheumatology thought leader, has been awarded the endowed Reeves Foundation Distinguished Professorship in Arthritis Research.

Dr. Beth Jonas

(Republished from the UNC Thurston Arthritis Center website)

Endowed professorships are one of the highest honors bestowed by UNC upon faculty, in order to recognize the University’s most accomplished scientists and educators. In addition to honoring exceptional achievement, these professorships help the University recruit, retain, and support the highest quality faculty for its Department of Medicine. Dr. Jonas, who is Interim Chief for the UNC Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology, and Director of the Rheumatology Fellowship Training Program at the Thurston Arthritis Research Center, is a nationally recognized clinician educator who has served in numerous leadership roles within the rheumatology community.

During her 20 years at UNC she has been instrumental in establishing one of the country’s top-tier Rheumatology fellowship training programs, and leading the Division’s educational mission throughout the UNC School of Medicine. In recognition of her leadership and vision, Dr. Jonas was named the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Distinguished Program Director in 2015. Her work in developing a novel curriculum in Rheumatology at the UNC School of Medicine is supported by an ACR Rheumatology Research Foundation Clinician Scholar Educator Award.

Richard Loeser, MD, Director of the UNC Thurston Arthritis Research Center, also recognized Dr. Jonas’ contributions to her field. “Beth Jonas is a natural choice as recipient of this honor because she has contributed nationally as well as regionally to the development and implementation of innovative educational programs in rheumatology and is well known for providing high-quality and personalized care for patients.”

Ron Falk, M.D., Chair of the UNC Department of Medicine, added, “This is a well-deserved distinction for a highly-accomplished clinician, and an outstanding educator who is committed to training the next generation. We are grateful to the Reeves Foundation for making this honor possible.”