thomson-reutersThe annual list of highly cited researchers from Thomson Reuters recognizes the most influential researchers of the past decade, demonstrated by the production of multiple highly-cited papers than rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year in Web of Science. In 2019, fewer than 6,300, or .1% of the world’s researchers, across 21 research fields, have earned this exclusive distinction. This includes six faculty members from the department of medicine.

John Buse, MD, PhD (Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism)

Mike Cohen, MD (Division of Infectious Diseases)

Lisa Carey, MD, FASCO (Division of Hematology and Oncology)

Joseph Eron, MD (Division of Infectious Diseases)

David Margolis, MD (Division of Infectious Diseases)

Sidney Smith, MD, FAHA, FESC, FACP, MACC (Division of Cardiology)

The complete list of faculty from the UNC School of Medicine can be found here.