Skip to main content

The Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science has announced that Lishan Su, Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, has been selected to be a 2012 AAAS Fellow. Each year, the Council considers thousands of nominations from all branches of science and selects Fellows from those whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Lishan completed his graduate work at Harvard and his postdoctoral work at Stanford, and he was recruited to the UNC faculty in 1996. Since then, he has trained 24 postdocs and 17 graduate students. The AAAS is honoring Lishan “for distinguished contributions to the field of HIV immune pathogenesis, particularly for modeling persistent infection, immunopathogenesis and therapy by HIV and HCV in immunized mice.”

Lishan was inducted at a ceremony in Boston in February 2013. AAAS Fellows selected in the past include M&I faculty members Jeff Dangl, Bill Goldman, Stan Lemon, Joe Pagano, Nancy Raab-Traub, and Ron Swanstrom.