The meeting also highlighted the work of many members of the UNC Gynecologic Oncology faculty.

From left: Dr. Emma Barber, Dr. Leslie Clark

Dr. Emma Barber and Dr. Leslie Clark, both fellows in the UNC Division of Gynecologic Oncology, received honors at the annual meeting for the Society for Gynecologic Oncology earlier this month in National Harbor, Maryland.

Dr. Barber received an award for the “Best Clinical Poster Abstract” presented at the 2016 annual meeting. Barber was first author of the paper, “Validity of Currently Available Venous Thromboembolism Risk Assessment Tools in Gynecologic Oncology Patients,” and the senior author was Dr. Daniel Clarke-Pearson, chair of UNC OB-GYN and Robert A. Ross Professor in the UNC School of Medicine.

Dr. Clark was awarded the Laurel Rice Young Investigator Prize.

The meeting also featured new research from Dr. Barber, Dr. Emma Rossi, Dr. Paola Gehrig (chief of the division) and fellow Dr. Arthur-Quan Minh Tran. All are members of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Learn more.