Step 3 – Identify a faculty advisor in your department to work with

Identify a faculty advisor in your department to work with who will assist you in developing educational objectives and completing the UNC Resident International Rotation Policy (see form above). The required forms will also have to be approved by your program director and forwarded to Kathryn Hill ((kathryn.hill@unchealth.unc.edu) at the GME Office. The OIA can assist you in finding faculty with an interest in global health and walking you through the required forms if you need additional support. Below is a list of global health contact faculty within UNC residencies. These faculty are a good place to start for mentoring, ideas, and resources connecting you to global health, but if there is not a point person in your residency or you need help, please contact the OIA.

 

Department Physician Email
Anesthesiology Jay A. Anderson, DDS, MD janderson@aims.unc.edu
Dermatology Luis Diaz, MD Luis_Diaz@med.unc.edu
Emergency Medicine Justin Myers, DO, MPH Justin_Myers@med.unc.edu
ENT Carol Shores, MD MPH carol_shores@med.unc.edu
Family Medicine Martha Carlough, MD, MPH Martha_carlough@med.unc.edu
Sylvia Becker-Dreps,MD, MPH sbd@email.unc.edu
Med/Peds Rick Hobbs, MD Richard_hobbs@med.unc.edu
Alan Liles, MD Edmund_liles@med.unc.edu
Medicine Lee Berkowitz, MD lee_berkowitz@med.unc.edu
Neonatology Wayne Price, MD wayne_price@med.unc.edu
Melissa Bauserman, MD MPH melissa_bauserman@med.unc.edu
Neurology David Huang, MD huangd@neurology.unc.edu
Neurosurgery Deanna Sasaki-Adams, MD deanna_sasaski_adams@med.unc.edu
OB/GYN Jeff Stringer, MD (CIDRZ – Zambia) jeff_stringer@unc.edu
Tom Ivester, MD Thomas_ivester@med.unc.edu
Gretchen Stuart, MD gretchen_stuart@med.unc.edu
Ophthalmology Kenneth Cohen, MD Kenneth_l_cohen@med.unc.edu
Orthopaedics Robert Esther, MD bob@med.unc.edu
Laurence Dahners laury@med.unc.edu
Pediatrics Richard Hobbs, MD

Elizabeth Fitzgerald, MD

Richard.Hobbs@unchealth.unc.edu

efitzgerald@med.unc.edu

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Heather Walker, MD heather_walker@med.unc.edu
Preventive Medicine Deborah Porterfield, MD, MPH deborah_porterfield@med.unc.edu
Psychiatry Adult and Pediatric Roberto Blanco, MD roberto_blanco@med.unc.edu
Radiology Sheryl Jordan, MD and Robert Dixon, MD (Assoc Director) sheryl_jordan@med.unc.edu
Surgery Anthony Charles, MD anthony_charles@med.unc.edu
UNC Project Malawi/Infectious Disease Myron Cohen, MD myron_cohen@med.unc.edu
Irving Hoffman, PA irving_hoffman@med.unc.edu

The University Center for Global Initiatives maintains a search engine of collaborative agreements and faculty involved in international projects which may be helpful as well. Also check with the Institute for Global Health and Infectious Disease and the School of Public Health Office of Global Health for specific areas of interest and geographic experience of UNC faculty for ideas. Many faculty are willing to help with international electives.