Skip to main content

Anesthesiology

August 12, 2021

Department Website: med.unc.edu/anesthesiology Faculty Member Contacts Shawn Jia Assistant Professor, Co-Director of Medical Student Rotations shawn_jia@med.unc.edu Harendra Arora Vice Chair of Education harendra_arora@med.unc.edu FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? Email Dr. Shawn Jia and he will help determine who might be a good match. What should my Individualization Phase … Continued

Dermatology

August 12, 2021

Department Website: med.unc.edu/derm Faculty Member Contacts Rachel Blasiak Assistant Professor Director, Medical Student Education rachel_blasiak@med.unc.edu Dean Morrell Program Director, Vice Chair Education morrell@med.unc.edu Carolyn Ziemer Assistant Professor carolyn_ziemer@med.unc.edu Chris Sayed Associate Professor christopher_sayed@med.unc.edu Nancy Thomas Irene & Robert Alan Briggaman Distinguished Professor nancy_thomas@med.unc.edu FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? … Continued

Emergency Medicine

August 12, 2021

Department Website: med.unc.edu/emergmed Faculty Member Contacts Howard Choi Assistant Professor Director of Medical Student Education howard_choi@med.unc.edu Tracy DeSelm Assistant Professor tracy_deselm@med.unc.edu FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? Students meet with the clerkship director (Dr. Howard Choi) during their EM401 EM AI clerkship.  Some students have more complex advising needs, … Continued

Family Medicine

August 12, 2021

Department Website: med.unc.edu/fammed Faculty Member Contacts Dawn Morriston Associate Director for Educational Programs dawn_morriston@med.unc.edu Note: Ms. Morriston will connect you to a Career Goal Advisor based on your interests FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? Students meet with Dawn Morriston, Director of Student Advising, for an initial discussion of … Continued

Internal Medicine

August 12, 2021

Department Website: med.unc.edu/medicine Faculty Member Contacts Katie Gill Assistant Professor of Medicine katherine.Gill@unchealth.unc.edu Raquel Reyes HISC Course Director, Associate Professor of Medicine raquel.reyes@med.unc.edu Note: All have to meet with Dr. Reyes for the departmental letter Christopher Klipstein Professor of Medicine christopher_klipstein@med.unc.edu FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? Assigned by … Continued

Internal Medicine/Pediatrics

August 12, 2021

Department Websites: med.unc.edu/pediatrics/ & med.unc.edu/medicine Faculty Member Contacts Hannah Coletti Assistant Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics hycoletti@med.unc.edu Lynn West Coordinator, Pediatric Medical Student Education lmwest@med.unc.edu Please also schedule a meeting with Dr. Christopher Klipstein as he will write your Internal Medicine departmental letter. FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? … Continued

MD-MPH Program

August 12, 2021

Faculty Member Contacts Sue Tolleson Associate Director for Health Care and Prevention, Professor of Pediatrics suetr@unc.edu Additional Info Program Website: med.unc.edu/education/combined-programs/md-mph Master of Public Health (MPH)

MD-PhD Program

August 12, 2021

Program Website: med.unc.edu/mdphd Faculty Member Contacts Toni Darville Chief, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases lad@email.unc.edu” Mohanish Deshmukh Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Physiology mohanish_deshmukh@med.unc.edu Alison Regan Assistant Director alison_regan@med.unc.edu Additional Info Program Overview

Neurology

August 12, 2021

Department Website: med.unc.edu/neurology Faculty Member Contacts Adult Neurology Michael Wang Clinical Associate Professor wangm@neurology.unc.edu Ana Felix Assistant Professor anafelix@med.unc.edu Pediatric Neurology Diana Cejas Assistant Professor Diana.Cejas@cidd.unc.edu FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? Any student who is interested in neurology can reach out to any of the three career goal … Continued

Obstetrics and Gynecology

August 12, 2021

Department Website: med.unc.edu/obgyn Faculty Member Contacts Amy Bryant Associate Professor amy_bryant@med.unc.edu Note: Dr. Bryant will connect you to a Career Goal Advisor based on interests FAQs/Course Recommendations/Additional Info How do students get assigned a career goal advisor? Please contact the head career goal advisor.  You will be assigned your own head career goal at the … Continued