LOREN ROBINSON, MDReceived the Howard Schubiner Award at last week’s National Med/Peds Meeting in New Orleans. This award recognizes significant contributions by a Med/Peds Resident physician to NMRPA and/or Med-Peds at the local or state level.

LOREN ROBINSON, MD – Chief resident in Internal Medicine/Pediatrics was selected as a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar
Robinson named Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar
Loren Robinson, left, a chief resident in Internal Medicine/Pediatrics, was selected as a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar.

The program chose 27 leading physicians in the country.

Robinson said she is honored and humbled to be accepted as a Clinical Scholar. “For me, being selected means the bar has been raised,” she said. “I will have two years to go from talking the talk to walking the walk, in terms of both community involvement and empowerment as well as expanding my educational skill set.”

Throughout the two-year program, Clinical Scholars will examine the delivery, impact and organization of health care and will also have the opportunity to train in community-based participatory research (CBPR).

Robinson will begin her fellowship in July 2013 at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and associated hospitals in Philadelphia. Her project involves working with youth and teenagers to improve their collective health.

Before beginning her fellowship, Robinson intends to continue giving back to the Triangle area and volunteering with youth here in North Carolina. She was recently featured on ‘real doctors, real people’ with pre-med student Ashlyn Sanders. Watch the video here.

“I am excited to spend these next two years serving an underserved community, but also working within the community to improve itself,” she said.

HEANG LIM, MD & APRIL EDWARDS, MD – 2012-2013 Med/Peds Housestaff Council Delegates

KATIE JACOBSON, MD 2012-2013 NMPRA Executive Board Treasurer

LOREN ROBINSON, MD – Henry C. Fordham Award – Voted on by 4th year graduating medical students.

MEREDITH MILLER, MD – Hope Scholarship – Supports resident participation in Global Health.

LOREN ROBINSON, MD – 2012-2013 Senior Class Med/Peds AAP Representative