Honors and Awards

Recent accomplishments by our faculty and staff



Congratulations to Molly Berkoff for her acceptance into the AAMC Mid-Career Women Faculty Professional Development Seminar. 


Kathy Bradford will be chairing the Clinical Conundrums session at the 2015 Pediatric Hospital Medicine conference.  Congratulations, Kathy!


Arlene Chung was a featured speaker for the "Building More Effective eInterventions Through Functional Design" workshop sponsored by Lineberger CHAI Core and NORC.  Her talk was titled "All Things Considered: SoMe and Wearables."


Cyril Engmann was invited to the US Congress to hold a briefing on Maternal, Newborn, Child Health and Nutritional progress being made in saving children' lives around the world.  Please join us in congratulating Cyril and his representing UNC.



Congratulations to Allen Liles who was named one of the Top 10 Hospitalists in the country for 2014 by the American College of Physicians. 



Congratulations to Eliana Perrin, who gave the prestigious Robinson Lecture in Boston at Harvard Medical School/Mass General. The Robinson Lecture is an annual event with a different invited primary care professor each year.


John Rusher was featured in American Academy of Pediatrics news this month for working on Medicaid payments in the state.  His work extending attestations for the Medicare-Medicaid equalization has helped triple the number of pediatricians who benefited.



Congratulations to second year resident Beth Sandberg, who was a podium presenter at the recent Southern Pediatric Endocrine Society with the lecture titled "A Novel SHOX Gene Mutation in 7 Siblings with Short Stature."


Dick Wardrop was awarded a grant from the North Carolina ACP for his educational project entitled "High Value Care Faculty Development Curriculum."  The high value train keeps on moving!

A second congratulations to Dick Wardrop for being the spotlighted MP Program Director this month on the Medicine-Pediatrics Program Directors Association website.  Congrats to Dick for this well-deserved recognition!