Skip to main content

Our Carolina Summer Fellowship Students gave their final research presentations July 25. Congratulations to all!

2018 Carolina Fellowship Program students with mentors upon completing their final research presentations.

We congratulate our Carolina Summer Fellowship students on completing the program and giving their final research presentations!

Title of their talks are as follows:

  • Shaeloren Deering (Nicholas Lab) Spelman College (2021), “Characterizing the AcnB-Q371K mutation found in resistance strains of gonorrhea.”
  • Nikole Fendler (Cox Lab) Davidson College (2019), “Evaluating Farnesyl Transferase Inhibitors in HRAS-Mutant Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma”
  • Dajhnae Gambrell-Sanders (Cox Lab) Clark Atlanta University (2021), “Evaluating ERK inhibitor sensitivity in HRAS mutant head and neck squamous cell carcinoma”
  • Karson Guthrie (Der Lab) University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2020), “Characterizing an unconventional RHOAL57V mutation found in diffuse gastric cancer”
  • Sara Hudson (Graves Lab) University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2019), “Investigating ERK8 Regulation – Testing Upstream Activators and Developing Tools to Discover Inhibitiors”
  • Larshe Moore (Schisler Lab) Clark Atlanta University (2021), “Identifying CXCL5-dependent signaling pathways that regulate cholesterol metabolism”
  • Dylan Schuler (Nicholas Lab) University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2020), “Regulation of Essential Penicillin-Binding Protein Expression by Peptidoglycan Hydrolases in N. gonorrhoeae”
  • Alex Tribo (Roth Lab) University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2019), “Non-canonical G protein couplings at Serotonin 5-HT2A Receptors”

Photo upper right: Back Row (L to R): Joseph Fonseca, Dr. Lee Graves, Dr. Jonathan Schisler, Dr. Rob Nicholas, Dylan Schuler, Shaeloren Deering and Geovani Ayala. Middle Row (L to R): Nicole Arnold, Dr. Rahmelle Thompson, Nika Fendler, Sara Hudson, Karson Guthrie, Dajhnae Gambrell-Sanders and Larshe Moore. Front Row (L to R): Natalie Hewitt, Raquel Martinez-Chacin, and Lucas Aponte-Collazo. Not pictured: Alex Tribo.