Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring Awardees

Two Pharmacology faculty members, Dr. Henrik Dohlman, Sanford Steelman Distinguished Professor and Chair of Pharmacology,  and Dr. Ben Major, Associate Professor of Cell Biology and Physiology and joint Pharmacology faculty member received Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring Awards.  Congratulations to both!

The Office of Graduate Education at the UNC School of Medicine named 10 recipients for the Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring Awards, a nod to the 10 years that UNC-Chapel Hill’s Biological and Biomedical Sciences Program has been in existence.

The celebration was part of a larger cultural movement in the biomedical sciences to prioritize mentoring and diversify the scientific enterprise.

In 2014, the NIH launched a “broad, trans-institutional strategy” to address the lack of diversity in the biomedical research workforce, and the National Research Mentoring Network (NRMN) was formed. Their mission is to provide researchers across all career stages in the biomedical, behavioral, clinical, and social sciences with the evidence-based mentorship and professional development programming that emphasizes the benefits and challenges of diversity, inclusivity, and culture.

~Excepted from the full article on UNC SOM news which you can read here…

Dr. Henrik Dolman, newly appointed Chair of the Department of Pharmacology
Dr. Henrik Dohlman
Dr. Ben Major
Dr. Ben Major