Skip to main content


The Robert Bashford UNC Department of Psychiatry Alumni Society

Join a network of over 850 and counting!

About the Society

The Robert Bashford UNC Department of Psychiatry Alumni Society is a new and exciting group dedicated to enhancing the connection between past, present and future clinicians and researchers who have trained or served as faculty at UNC. The Robert Bashford Alumni Society is a revitalized and reinvigorated addition to the George C. Ham Society established in the early 1980’s as a way to honor the founder and first Chairman of the UNC Department of Psychiatry. It is our hope to now honor the late Dr. Bashford, a man who contributed an enormous amount of character and charisma to our department, while also fostering a sense of modernized community.

Dr. Samantha Meltzer-Brody is now the chair of the UNC Department of Psychiatry, and has made a great point of emphasis thus far to engage current and former TarHeels and bring back regular alumni meetings and events. This alumni society is conceived as a venue wherein alumni and alumni of the Department can meet to share memories and experiences, as well as professional expertise.

Support the Alumni Society



Alumni support is critical to the long-term health of the department and a wonderful opportunity to extend gratitude forward to the next generation of healthcare leaders who will study at UNC. Gifts to the Robert Bashford, MD Alumni Society create a lasting legacy of support that empowers our faculty, staff and students.

For more information on supporting the Department of Psychiatry through philanthropy, please contact Holli Gall, Senior Executive Director of Development and Communications at the UNC Health Foundation.

Update Your Contact Information

Join the Facebook Group

Give to Bashford Society Education Fund

Alumni Committee

Suggestions on reinvigorating the Bashford Society? Want more information? Contact our alumni coordinator, Dr. Surabhi Kasera