UNC Department of Radiology congratulates James H. Scatliff Distinguished Professor of Radiology and Division Chief of Neuroradiology Dr. Mauricio Castillo for his selection as the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) 2020 Gold Medal recipient. Dr. Castillo joins Dr. Etta Pisano (2012) and Dr. Joseph K.T. Lee (2013) as the Department’s third faculty member to receive this Gold Medal.  Dr. Castillo served as ARRS President (2016-2017) and as a Figley Fellow in Radiology Journalism, as well as an AFIP Scholar.

At UNC, Dr. Castillo began his distinguished career in 1992 as an Associate Professor. For his excellence as an educator, Castillo received the Annual Charles A. Bream Teaching Award in Radiology twice (1997, 2007).  In 2015, he was appointed as UNC’s second James H. Scatliff, M.D. Distinguished Professor of Radiology.

Dr. Castillo is recognized internationally for his decades as a top scholar in clinical neuroimaging. He served as Editor in Chief of the American Journal of Neuroradiology and has authored 30 books, almost 200 electronic presentations, 170+ book chapters, 650 articles and 400+ abstracts, as well as delivered over 1,200 lectures during his 53 Visiting Professorships. A native of Guatemala, Dr. Castillo is an Honorary Member of the European and Italian Societies of Neuroradiology and the Spanish, Chinese-Taiwan, Argentinian, Ecuatorian, Pernubucam, and Cearense Societies of Radiology.

Dr. Castillo’s history of ARRS leadership is mirrored by other positions he’s held in the fields of neuroradiology and radiology. He served as the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR)’s 2013-2014 President and is a founding member of the American Society of Pediatric Neuroradiology (ASPNR). Within the American College of Radiology (ACR), Dr. Castillo was chosen as a Fellow (FACR) in 2003, and as its first-ever recipient of the Jackson Education Fellowship in 2004.

The 2020 American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS)’s Gold Medal for Distinguished Service to Radiology is Dr. Castillo’s second career-honoring Gold Medal in recent years. He received the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR)’s Gold Medal in 2018. The ARRS honor will be presented to Dr. Castillo during the opening ceremony of the 120th ARRS Annual Meeting in May 2020 in Chicago, Ill.

ARRS 2019-2020 President Dr. Ruth Carlos noted: “Mauricio represents the best of us.  He embodies the ARRS spirit of education and leadership through collegiality.  This award is a small measure of our esteem and appreciation of Dr. Castillo’s contributions to the ARRS and to the radiology profession.”