Skip to main content

Division of Neuroradiology

In 1996, Dr. Francis Pepper from Winston-Salem established the “Wood Fund for Advancement of Neuroradiology at UNC,” as well as an endowed Chair. The fund and Chair were established to honor Dr. and Mrs. Ernest Wood, first Chair of Radiology at UNC and a pioneer neuroradiologist. Income from the fund is used to support pilot research projects, the Annual Wood Memorial Lecture and a Spring Visiting Professorship.

 23rd Annual Ernest H. Wood Lecture
Friday, November 8th, 2019


David M. Yousem, MD, MBA
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Professor of Radiology and Radiological Science
Vice Chairman of Faculty Development

Wood Lecture speakers: 

  • Dr. R. Bronen, Yale University, 1997
  • Dr. J. Weissman, University of Pittsburgh, 1998
  • Dr. R. Jinkins, University of Texas – San Antonio, 1999
  • Dr. T. Naidich, Mount Sinai Medical School, 2000
  • Dr. V. Haughton, University of Wisconsin, 2001
  • Dr. M. Jensen, University of Virginia, 2002
  • Dr. Ramon Gilberto Gonzalez, The Massachusetts General Hospital, 2003
  • Dr. Alisa Gean, University of California in San Francisco, 2004
  • Dr. James Smirniotopoulos, Uniformed Services, University of Health Services, 2005
  • Dr. Patricia Hudgins, Emory University, 2006
  • Dr. Edmond Knopp, New York University, 2007
  • Dr. Michelle Michel, Medical College of Wisconsin, 2008
  • Dr. Doug Phillips, Cornell University, 2009
  • Dr. Suresh Mukherji, University of Michigan, 2010
  • Dr. Jeffrey Ross, Barrow Neurological Institute, 2011
  • Dr. Orlando Ortiz, Winthrop University Hospital, 2012
  • Dr. Max Wintermark, University of Virginia, 2013
  • Dr. Gordon Sze, Yale University, 2014
  • Dr. Timo Krings, University of Toronto, 2015
  • Dr. Pina Sanelli, Northwell Hospitals, 2016
  • Dr. Alex Rovira, Val de Hebron Hospitals, Barcelona, 2017
  • Dr. Pamela Schaefer, Massachusetts General Hospital, 2018
  • Dr. David Yousem, Johns Hopkins Medicine, 2019
  • Dr. Jody Tanabe, University of Colorado, October 2020 (upcoming)

Other Neuroradiology visiting professors include:

  • Dr. Scott Atlas, Stanford University, 1994
  • Dr. R. Quencer, University of Miami, 1995
  • Dr. C. Truwit, University of Minnesota, 1996
  • Dr. Thierry Huisman, Johns Hopkins, 2018
  • Dr. Yvonne Lui, New York University, April 2019
  • Dr. Joshua Hirsch, MGH, April 2020 (upcoming)

More information regarding the visiting professor program at the Department of Radiology may be found at: For interest in supporting the Wood Fund, please contact Dr. Castillo or go to “Make a Gift” and select this fund from the pull-down menu. Also, please contact Dr. Castillo if you would like to be included in the mailing list for the Wood Annual Lecture.