Skip to main content

The Department of Social Medicine’s DEI committee meets monthly to discuss, develop, and implement strategies to ensure that the Department is a welcoming community for all students, staff, and faculty. If you have questions, concerns, ideas, or would like to help with any initiatives, please reach out to any of the committee members. We welcome new ideas and new members!

Dr. Rebecca Walker, Chair of the Social Medicine DEI committee, serves as the DEI Liaison for the Department and meets monthly with SOM Vice Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Dr. Nate Thomas, and DEI Liaisons throughout the School of Medicine. DEI Liaisons lead their departments’ Diversity Committees, advise departmental leadership on DEI issues, and facilitate dissemination of DEI-related learning and advocacy opportunities. DEI plans for each department are posted on the website for the School of Medicine Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Annual reports from ODEI that summarize school-wide and departmental efforts are also available here.

SOM DEI Staff Subcommittee

The SOM DEI Council also established a Staff Subcommittee in order to broaden representation on the Council. The DEI Council Staff Subcommittee is composed of staff representatives from departments across the SOM. If you are interested in joining the SOM DEI Council Staff Subcommittee, please contact them directly and/or let the chair of the Social Medicine DEI committee know. You can read more about how the staff subcommittee is advancing DEI efforts and staff initiatives here.