Ernie Grant wins Artz Distinguished Service Award

March 27, 2018

Dr. Ernie Grant Congratulations to our very own Dr. Ernie Grant for winning the Curtis P. Artz Distinguished Service Award, presented annually to a non-physician member of the American Burn Association for his/her outstanding contributions in the burn field.

Department of Surgery Winter Newsletter 2018

March 23, 2018

The Department of Surgery publishes a quarterly, online newsletter featuring the latest updates on our department’s clinical, educational, and research developments along with a “Message from the Chair.” Join us in welcoming our new team members and stay connected to learn about the exciting accomplishments of our faculty, trainees, staff, and alumni.

Dr. Trista Reid Honored as First Craver Professor

February 8, 2018

With the support and generosity of UNC School of Medicine alum Joseph M. Craver, MD ’67, the Office of Medical Education is proud to announce the creation of the Craver Professor Award honoring outstanding teachers in Internal Medicine, Pediatrics and Surgery who both inspire and change the lives of medical students through their teaching. The first Craver Professor Award recipient is Trista D. Reid, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Surgery in the Division of General Acute Care Surgery.

Dr. Caranasos & TAVR Team Praised in Patient Video Testimonial

February 1, 2018

Dr. Caranasos & the UNC TAVR Team (John Vavalle, MD, Matthew Cavender, MD, Cassie Ramm, MSN, and Tabitha Linville, BSN) received praise in a patient video testimonial for a successful Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement procedure.