Skip to main content

The American Urological Association presented Angela B. Smith, MD, MS, FACS with the 2022 Gold Cystoscope Award, an award presented annually to a urologist distinguished by outstanding contributions to the field of urology. Dr. Smith is being honored for her outstanding leadership and contributions in bladder cancer outcomes research and is only the third woman to earn the award since its inception in 1977.

In addition to providing clinical and surgical care focused on bladder cancer, Dr. Smith is the principal investigator or co-principal investigator of several national studies, and she is an internationally recognized expert in bladder cancer, stakeholder engagement, patient-reported outcomes in urology, and mHealth interventions.

Dr. Smith has previously served on the PCORI Advisory Panel for the Assessment of Prevention, Diagnosis and Treatment Options. She currently serves as the assistant secretary of the American Urological Association and is on the Scientific Advisory Board for the Bladder Cancer Advocacy Network, Journal of Urology editorial board, Society of Women in Urology Board of Directors, and past chair of the Urology Care Foundation Bladder Health Committee.


About the AUA

The American Urological Association was founded in 1902 and headquartered near Baltimore, Maryland, the American Urological Association is a leading advocate for the specialty of urology, and has more than 20,000 members throughout the world. The AUA is a premier urologic association, providing invaluable support to the urologic community as it pursues its mission of fostering the highest standards of urologic care through education, research, and the formulation of health policy.