Originally Published in Vital Signs

David Zvara, MD, will serve as Interim Chair of the Department of Urology, effective September 11, 2019

David Zvara, MD, FAHA will serve as Interim Chair of the Department of Urology, effective September 11. During his time in this interim position, he will retain his current titles as Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and Chief Operating Officer of UNC Faculty Physicians.

In its recent rankings, Doximity ranked UNC’s Urology residency program as #14 in the nation and #1 in North Carolina. U.S. News & World Report has ranked UNC’s Pediatric Urology program as #37 nationally.

Zvara has served as Chair of Anesthesiology since 2008 and COO of the UNC Faculty Practice since 2017.  His professional patient care interests center around General Anesthesiology. As Chair of Anesthesiology Dr. Zvara has seen a tripling in the size of the Department and Anesthesiology services across the triangle. As COO of the UNCFP, Dr. Zvara is the physician leader of the Ambulatory Care Dyad team and a member of the Hillsborough Hospital and Medical Office Building Executive committee. Zvara did all of his education and training at The Ohio State University. He served in the U.S. Air Force as a physician anesthesiologist and was deployed during Operation Desert Storm. Prior to joining the faculty at UNC, he was a member of the faculty at Wake Forest University where he rose to the rank of Professor, and at the Ohio State University where he also served as Chair.

Raj Pruthi, MD, MHA, who has served as Chair since the department was established in 2013, has been appointed as Chair of Urology at UC San Francisco.