Skip to main content

February 25, 2020 –  UNC Urologist Angela Smith, MD, MS has been named one of the American Urological Association’s Young Urologists of the Year Award Winners for 2020.

Established in 2012/13, this award recognizes a urologist’s commitment to advancing the development of early-career urologists.

Alongside eight others also named this year (for the full list, visit here:, the award is in recognition of Dr. Smith’s contributions and accomplishments while establishing herself as a future leader in the specialty.

In the press release by the AUA, it was noted about Dr. Smith:

“In recognition of her mentorship both in her role as Director of Urologic Oncology in the UNC Department of Urology as well as in her role as a board member of the Society of Women in Urology. Dr. Smith also serves as an Assistant Secretary for the AUA, overseeing AUA’s partnerships in Latin America and the Caribbean.”

– American Urological Association

Dr. Smith will recieve her award alongside others at the 115th AUA Annual Meeting in Washington, DC later this May.


Angela B. Smith, MD, MS, FACS
Vice Chair of Academic Affairs
Director of Urologic Oncology
Associate Professor of Urology

Angela B. Smith, MD, MS


About the Young Urologist of the Year Award

Established by the 2012-2013 AUA Young Urologists Committee (YUC) Chair, Dr. Michael C. Ost, the Young Urologist of the Year Award is presented annually to select AUA members who have been in practice for ten years or less in recognition of their efforts and commitment to advancing the development of fellow early-career urologists. Members are selected by colleagues on the Young Urologists Committee.

About The AUA

The American Urological Association was founded in 1902 and headquartered near Baltimore, Maryland and is the leading advocate for the specialty of urology. With more than 21,000 members throughout the world, the AUA is a premier urologic association, providing invaluable support to the urologic community as it pursues its mission of fostering the highest standards of urologic care through education, research and the formulation of health policy.