Surgical Pathology Fellowship

Program Description:
The UNC School of Medicine Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine offers a one-year Fellowship/Instructorship in Surgical Pathology. This training year is intended for board-eligible or board-certified anatomic pathologists who want progressive responsibility in the practice of academic Surgical Pathology. UNC Surgical Pathology volumes are currently 29,000 cases per year, and represent a broad spectrum of pathology. Service responsibilities include case diagnosis, case reporting, outside case review, and case presentation at multidisciplinary conferences. In the Fall, the Fellow’s service work is supervised, and his/her diagnoses are finalized by faculty. In the late Fall, Fellows are credentialed by the Hospital to allow independent sign-out of cases, and are appointed as faculty Instructors. In the Spring, the Instructors diagnose and sign out cases independently. In addition to these service responsibilities, opportunities are available for didactic and slide-based teaching of medical students and residents.

Program Requirements: Applicants must possess an MD degree, be board-eligible/board-certified in Anatomic Pathology, and be eligible for medical licensure in North Carolina.

Stipends: Fellowship stipends are based on the trainee’s postgraduate year, currently $55,000 for a PGY5, with an increase during the Instructorship appointment.

Program Director: William K. Funkhouser, MD, PhD, Director of Anatomic and Surgical Pathology

Faculty Members:

Debra Budwit, MD — Gynecologic pathology

Leslie G. Dodd, MD — Cytopathology and surgical pathology; neoplasms of bone and soft tissue

William K. Funkhouser, MD, PhD — Surgical pathology and transplantation pathology

Kevin Greene, MD — Surgical pathology, cytopathology, and gastrointestinal pathology

Pamela A. Groben, MD — Surgical pathology, dermatopathology, and gastrointestinal pathology

Johann D. Hertel, MD — Cytopathology and surgical pathology

Ruth A. Lininger, MD, MPH — Surgical pathology, gynecologic pathology, and breast pathology

Susan J. Maygarden, MD — Uropathology and lung pathology

Siobhan M. O'Connor, MD — Surgical pathology of the breast and cytopathology

Lori R. Scanga, MD, PhD — Cytopathology, gynecologic pathology, and molecular pathology

Scott V. Smith, MD — Surgical pathology and pediatric pathology

Roger W. Stone, MD — Surgical pathology

Dimitri M. Trembath, MD, PhD — Neuropathology, surgical pathology, and molecular pathology

John T. Woosley, MD, PhD — Surgical pathology, dermatopathology, and gastrointestinal pathology


Applications for 2015–16: The Standardized Application for Pathology Fellowships from the College of American Pathologists and 3 letters of recommendation should be submitted no later than October 15, 2013 (20 months before start date) to Betsy McDonald, Fellowship Coordinator, at the address below. Electronic format is welcomed for applications and letters of recommendation. Interviews will be completed, and offers made, by December 1, 2013.

For additional information, please contact…

Betsy McDonald
Fellowship Coordinator
Room 30148 W&C
UNC Hospitals
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Telephone: 919-966-7088