Awards & Distinguished Professorships

The School of Medicine proudly recognizes faculty members for their accomplishments in teaching, research, and patient care as well as service to the School of Medicine.

Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecturer
Every year an outstanding School of Medicine faculty member is selected to present the Norma Berryhill Lecture.
Jefferson Pilot Fellowships in Academic Medicine
This award is given annually to support a current junior faculty member's scholarly endeavors.
Dr. James W. Woods Junior Faculty Awards
The award supports research and scholarship of a junior faculty member.
Distinguished Medical Alumni Awards
The DMAAs honor two alumni each year who have significantly enhanced the reputation and prestige of the School of Medicine through their lifelong careers of service and accomplishment.
H. Fleming Fuller Award
The Fuller Award recognizes members of the medical staff who demonstrate the qualities embodied in Dr. Fuller’s lifelong dedication to the highest standards of patient care, teaching and community.
Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Awards
Recipients of this award have demonstrated a sincere empathy for patients and their families, an effectiveness in listening to and communicating with our patients; proven advocacy for and demonstration of the highest standards of patient care and maintained exemplary professional and interpersonal interactions with colleagues, staff, patients, and visitors.
Kenan Distinguished Professorships
UNC faculty members may be named by the University as prestigious Sarah Graham Kenan Distinguished Professor, William Rand Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professors and Kenan Distinguished Professors.
Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorship
The Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorships are intended to honor mid-career faculty with a track record of substantial leadership in teaching medical students as well as educational innovation.
Academy of Educators Teaching Awards
The eight teaching awards annually recognize the importance of excellence in medical student teaching. They seek to increase the prestige of great teachers and make teaching a more viable part of a faculty member’s career path.