Skip to main content

MSI Directors

Anthony Charles MD MPH FACS
Associate Professor
UNC Division of Acute Care Surgery
Department of Surgery

Carol Shores MD PhD FACS
UNC Division of Head & Neck Surgery
Department of Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery

Jonathan Samuel, MD MPH
Assistant Professor
Associate Director, Malawi Surgical Initiative
NC Jaycee Burn Center
Department of Surgery

UNC Faculty

Institute for Global Health

Myron Cohen, MD
Associate Vice Chancellor for Global Health
J. Herbert Bate Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Microbiology and Immunology
Public Health Director, Institute for Global Health and Infectious Diseases
Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Director, Center for Infectious Disease
Department of Medicine

Department of Surgery

Bruce Cairns MD FACS
John Stackhouse Distinguished Associate Professor
Director NC Jaycee Burn Center
Vice Chair Research, Department of Surgery
Medical Director, Department of Respiratory Care
Professor of Microbiology/Immunology

Joseph Fulton MD
Assistant Professor
Division of Vascular Surgery

Clara Lee MD
Assistant Professor, Director of Research
Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Timothy Weiner MD
Division of Pediatric Surgery

Department of Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery

Carlton Zdanski MD, FACS
Associate Professor
Chief, Division of Pediatric Otolaryngology
Surgical Director, NC Children’s Airway Center

Department of Anesthesiology

Jay Anderson DDS, MD
Associate Professor

UNC Division of Infectious Disease:

Irving Hoffman, PA, MPH
Associate Professor, School of Medicine
Director of International Operations

Mina Hosseinipour, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine
Clinical Director, UNC Project-Malawi

Francis Martinson, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Director, UNC Project-Malawi

UNC Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Gretchen Stuart, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor

Jennifer H. Tang, MD
Assistant Professor

Jeffrey Wilkinson, MD
Associate Professor


Other Faculty

Prof Asgaut Viste
Department of Surgery, Haukeland University Hospital, Bergen Norway

Dr Sven Young
Department of Orthopedics, Haukeland University Hospital, Bergen Norway

Ake Andren-Sandberg MD
Karolinska University Hospital Department of Surgery, Stockholm, Sweden

Krishna Patel MD
Division of Plastics & Reconstructive Surgery, Department of Otolaryngology, MUSC

Shay Dean
Dean Plastic Surgery Associates, Beverly Hills, California