Skip to main content

Congratulations to Dr. Greg Balfanz (Department of Anesthesiology) and Dr. Mathew Raynor (Department of Urology) on their recent election to the UNC Faculty Physicians Board.

Dr. Balfanz and Dr. Raynor will represent Large and Small Departments respectively, and will serve a three-year term. During their service on the Board, they will represent their respective departments while presenting any issues or interests of the UNC Faculty Physicians members-at-large.

“I am honored to be selected by my peers to serve on the Faculty Practice board.
I look forward to working with and learning from the other members.”

Mathew Raynor, MD, FACS
Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs
Professor of Urology

Dr. Mathew Raynor

About UNC Faculty Physicians

UNC Faculty Physicians is the clinical service component of the UNC School of Medicine. Previously known as UNC Physicians and Associates, the name was changed at the beginning of 2013 to UNC Faculty Physicians to better reflect the academic focus of the School of Medicine clinical faculty. With more than 1,700 faculty physicians, UNC Faculty Physicians provide a full range of specialty and primary care services for patients at the UNC Medical Center and a growing number of clinics across the state.

The UNC Faculty Physicians help provide effective management of the clinical faculty practice of the School of Medicine at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and further promote a clinical setting conducive to all School of Medicine and UNC Health Care missions and initiatives, including public service, proper education of medical trainees, the conduct of research, and the delivery of healthcare throughout the state of North Carolina.


Six at-large, full-time members of UNC Faculty Physicians are elected by the membership to represent and bring issues to the Board.

Three members are elected from the six Largest Departments based on clinical revenue and another three members are elected from the remaining Small Departments. Not more than one member of any department is elected to serve as an at large member of the Board at any one time.

Current ‘Small’ Departments

  • Allied Health Sciences
  • Dermatology (At-Large Representative: Amy Fox)
  • Emergency Medicine
  • ENT
  • Family Medicine (At-Large Representative: Sam Weir)
  • Neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedics
  • Pathology
  • PM&R
  • Psychiatry
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Urology (At-Large Representative: Mathew Raynor)

Current ‘Large’ Departments

  • Anesthesiology (At-Large Representative: Greg Balfanz)
  • Department of Medicine
  • Pediatrics (At-Large Representative: Mike Steiner)
  • Radiology
  • Surgery (At-Large Representative: Raghid Bitar)