Skip to main content
Adaora A. Adimora, MD, MPH

Floris-Moore to Deliver Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture

The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture will be delivered by Michelle Floris-Moore, MD, MS in honor of Adaora A. Adimora, MD, MPH who passed away this winter.

Please mark your calendars for this a special Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture, which will be held live at the Roper Hall Active Learning Theater and virtually on Thursday, June 20, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. Registration for the general public to attend this event in-person and streamed options are below.

I’m deeply humbled to have been invited to give the Berryhill Lecture in honor of Dr. Ada Adimora.  Dr. Adimora was a luminary in the field of Infectious Diseases and made exceptional contributions to HIV epidemiology and clinical care.  It was a true privilege to call Ada my colleague and friend, and I will be forever grateful for her generous and forthright mentorship.


-Michelle Floris-Moore, MD, MS

Michelle Floris-Moore, MD, MS

Michelle Floris-Moore, MD, MS is an infectious diseases physician and clinician researcher with expertise in prospective cohort investigations of the impact of HIV-related inflammation on aging and cardio-metabolic risk. She provides outpatient care for HIV-infected adults in the UNC ID Clinic and inpatient care for adults with general infectious diseases and HIV on the ID Consult Service. She is an associate professor of medicine and program director of the UNC Infectious Diseases Training Program.

Adaora A. Adimora, MD, MPH, is a Sarah Graham Kenan Distinguished Professor of Medicine at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and professor of epidemiology at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Register now to attend in-person!

This is a hybrid event. Tune in virtually below.




The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture began in 1985. Established to honor the medical school’s “most able scientists and scholars,” the lectureship is named after the late Norma Berryhill, whose late husband, Dr. Walter Reece Berryhill, was dean of the school from 1941 to 1964. Along with her husband, she is considered the co-founder of UNC’s four-year School of Medicine. While honoring an eminent member of the School of Medicine faculty, the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture series serves as an occasion to welcome new faculty members in an academic convocation and to further the sense of community created and nurtured by Mrs. Berryhill.


The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture is our annual convocation. It is a time when we reflect upon our School’s splendid heritage of collegiality and excellence, to which Norma Berryhill contributed so much. It is also the occasion on which we welcome our newest faculty members.

The Dean and Advisory Committee of the School of Medicine established the Norma Berryhill Lectureship in September 1984. The Lectureship has two essential components:

  1. a Lecture to be given annually by a member of the faculty of the Medical School; and
  2. a convocation of the Medical School to be held at the time of the Lecture and at which new faculty members will be recognized.

The aims of the Lectureship are twofold. First, the selection of the Norma Berryhill Lecturer is meant to honor a member of the faculty whose accomplishments have added distinction to the Medical School.

Second, the convocation is intended to further a sense of community within the Medical School. Because Mrs. Berryhill was a major factor in developing this sense, the Lectureship was named in her honor.

Previous lecturers

2023 Adaora A. Adimora, MD, MPH (Medicine)
2022 Nancy Raab-Traub, PhD (Microbiology & Immunology)
2021 Craig A. Fletcher, DVM, PhD (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2020 Ralph S. Baric, PhD (Microbiology & Immunology)
2019 William L. Roper, MD, MPH (Former Dean of the School of Medicine, Interim UNC System President)
2018 Giselle Corbie-Smith, MD, MSc (Social Medicine)
2017 Nancy Chescheir, MD (OB/GYN)
2016 Aziz Sancar, MD, PhD (Biochemistry & Biophysics)
2015 J. Charles Jennette, MD (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2014 Myron Cohen, MD (Medicine)
2013 Judith Tintinalli, MD, MS, FACEP (Emergency Medicine)
2012 Eugene Orringer, MD (Medicine)
2011 Ronald Falk, MD (Medicine)
2010 Jenny P. Ting, PhD (Microbiology & Immunology)
2009 Jeffrey L. Houpt, MD (Psychiatry)
2008 Richard C. Boucher, Jr., MD (Medicine)
2007 H. Shelton Earp, III, MD (Medicine)
2006 Robert C. Cefalo, MD, PhD (Obstetrics & Gynecology)
2005 Joel E. Tepper, MD (Radiation Oncology)
2004 Philip A. Bromberg, MD (Medicine)
2003 Harold R. Roberts, MD (Medicine & Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2002 Oliver Smithies, MA, DPhil (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2001 Edward A. Norfleet, MD (Anesthesiology)
2000 George F. Sheldon, MD (Surgery)
1999 P. Frederick Sparling, MD (Medicine)
1998 Joe W. Grisham, MD (Pathology)
1997 Joseph S. Pagano, MD (Medicine)
1996 Frank C. Wilson, MD (Surgery)
1995 Christopher C. Fordham III, MD (Medicine)
1994 Judson J. Van Wyk, MD (Pediatrics)
1993 Stuart Bondurant, MD (Medicine)
1992 George Johnson, Jr., MD (Surgery)
1991 William B. Blythe, MD (Medicine)
1990 Carl W. Gottschalk, MD (Medicine)
1989 Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD (Surgery)
1988 Mary Ellen Jones, PhD (Biochemistry)
1987 Floyd W. Denny, MD (Pediatrics)
1986 G. Philip Manire, PhD (Microbiology)
1985 John B. Graham, MD (Pathology)