Skip to main content

IHQI is pleased to announce that six projects will be supported through IHQI’s Improvement Scholars Program for the period Sept. 1, 2019 – Aug. 31, 2020. Please join us in extending warm congratulations to the 2019-2020 Improvement Scholars:

  •  Advance Care Planning in Outpatient Primary Care
    • Leads: Katherine Aragon, MD and Karen Halpert, MD
  • Reducing Low-Value Care through Syncope Standardization
    • Lead: Michael Craig, MD, MPH, SFHM
  • Palliative Care in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit
    • Lead: Joanna Grudziak, MD, MPH
  • Reducing Length of Stay for Pediatric Patients with Gastrostomy Tubes
    • Lead: Michael Phillips, MD
  • Improving Obesity Treatment in Primary Care
    • Lead: Sarah Ro, MD
  • Same Day Acute Care for Patients with Cancer
    • Lead: Hanna Sanoff, MD

Projects were selected after a rigorous review of  25 letters of intent and 12 full proposals. Selection criteria include:

  • Likelihood of sustainable improvement in clinical care and outcomes in prioritized areas of clinical improvement
  • The project’s impact on developing provider capacity to lead health care improvement
  • The project’s impact on promoting collaboration across units and departments
  • Clarity of the improvement strategy

The purpose of the Improvement Scholars program is to develop clinical improvement leaders who will ultimately mentor others to improve care and outcomes. IHQI provides training, mentorship, and guidance as well as half-time support of an improvement project manager.