Skip to main content

Department of Surgery
6109 Marsico Hall


Lu RP, Ni A, Lin FC, Ortiz-Pujols SM, Adams SD, Monroe DM 3rd, Whinna HC, Cairns BA, Key NS. Major burn injury is not associated with acute traumatic coagulopathy. J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2013 Jun;74(6):1474-9. PMID: 2369874

Jones SW, Zhou H, Ortiz-Pujols SM, Maile R, Herbst M, Joyner BL, Zhang H, Kesic M, Jaspers I, Short KA, Meyer AA, Peden DB, Cairns BA, Noah TL. Bronchoscopy-derived correlates of lung injury following inhalation injuries: a prospective observational study. PLoS One. 2013;8(5):e64250. PMID:23691180

Lu RP, Lin FC, Ortiz-Pujols SM, Adams SD, Whinna HC, Cairns BA, Key NS. Blood utilization in patients with burn injury and association with clinical outcomes. Transfusion. 2012 Dec 24. PMID 2327844

Joyner BL, Jones SW, Cairns BA, Harris BD, Coverstone AM, Abode A, Ortiz-Pujols, SM, Kocis KC, Noah TL. DNA and inflammatory mediators in bronchoalveolar lavage fluid from children with acute inhalational injuries. J Burn Care Res. 2012 Nov 6. PMID: 23128126

Mendoza AE, Neely CJ, Charles AG, Kartchner LB, Brickey WJ, Khoury AL, Sempowski GD, Ting JPY, Cairns BA, Maile R. Radiation combined with thermal injury induces immature myeloid cells. Shock. 2012 Nov;38(5):532-42. PMID: 23042190

Orrey DC, Bortsov AV, Hoskins JM, Shupp JW, Jones SW, Cicuto BJ, Hwang J, Jordan MH, Holmes JH, Haith LR, Roane BM, Diatchenko L, Cairns BA, McLean SA. Catechol-O-Methyltransferase genotype predicts pain severity in hospitalized burn patients. J Burn Care Res. 2012 Jul:33(4):518-523. PMID: 22210062

Holmes JH 4th, Carter JE, Neff LP, Cairns BA, d’Agostino RB Jr, Griffin LP, Meredith JW. The effectiveness of regionalized burn care: an analysis of 6,873 burn admissions in North Carolina from 2000 to 2007. J Am Coll Surg. 2011 Apr;212(4):487-493. PMID: 2146377

Neely CJ, Maile R, Wang MJ, Vadlamudi S, Meyer AA, Cairns BA. Th17 (IFN[gamma]-IL17+) CD4+ T cells generated after burn injury may be a novel cellular mechanism for postburn immunosuppression. J Trauma: Injury, Infection and Critical Care. 2011 March;70(3)681-90. PMID: 21610359

Jones SW, Short KA, Hanson WJ, Hendrix L, Charles AG, Cairns BA. Evaluation of a new circuit configuration for the VDR-4-high-frequency percussive ventilator. J Burn Care Res. 2010 Jul-Aug;31(4):640-5. PMID: 20616653

Cairns BA, Barnes CM, Mlot S, Meyer AA, Maile R. Toll-like receptor 2 and 4 ligation results in complex altered cytokine profiles early and late after burn injury. J Trauma. 2008 Apr;64(4):1069-77. PMID: 18404077

Moore CB, Medina MA, van Deventer HW, O’Connor BP, Cameron S, Taxman DJ, Maile R, Ting JP, Cairns BA. Downregulation of immune signaling genes in patients with large surface burn injury. J Burn Care Res. 2007 Nov-Dec;28(6):879-87. PMID: 17925653

Maile R, Barnes CM, Nielsen AI, Meyer AA, Frelinger JA, Cairns BA. Lymphopenia-Induced Proliferation of CD8+ T Cells is a Mechanism for Allogeneic Skin Graft Rejection Following Burn Injury. J Immunol. 2006 Jun 1;176(11):6717-6726. PMID: 16709831

Cairns B, Maile R, Barnes CM, Frelinger JA, Meyer AA. Increased Toll-Like Receptor 4 Expression on T Cells May be a Mechanism for Enhanced T Cell Response Late after Burn Injury. J Trauma. 2006 Aug;61(2):293-8; discussion 298-9. PMID: 16917441

Fair JH, Cairns BA, LaPaglia MA, Caballero M, Pleasant WA, Hatada S, Kim HS, Gui T, Pevny L, Meyer AA, Stafford DW, Smithies O, and Frelinger JA. Correction of Factor IX Deficiency in Mice by Embryonic Stem Cells Differentiated In Vitro. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA. 2005 Feb 22;102(8):2958-63. PMID: 15699326

Bruen KJ, Campbell CA, Schooler WG, deSerres, Cairns BA, Hultman CS, Meyer AA, Randell SH. Real-time monitoring of keratin 5 expression during burn re-epithelialization. J Surg Res. 2004 Jul;120(1):12-20. PMID: 15172185

Complete list of publications


  • US News & World Report Top Doctors 2012 (top 1% in the nation in specialty)
  • Inaugural Fellow, Academy of Educators, UNC School of Medicine (2007, re-elected 2012)
  • UNC Surgery Resident Advocate Faculty Award (2006)
  • Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award (2006)
  • NCSRC Physician of the Year Award (2005)
  • Woods Faculty Award “For one promising young clinical faculty member” UNC School of Medicine (2005)
  • American Burn Association Traveling Fellow Award (2005)
  • UNC School of Medicine Teaching Excellence Award (2004-2005)
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (Faculty Award 2004)
  • Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal “For professional achievement while serving as Team Leader following crash of Korean Air Flight 801 (US Navy, 1998)
  • Winner, American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma, Region IV, 1993 Resident’s Paper Competition, (1993)
  • Hebert Jennings Proctor Research Award (1992-93)


Department of Surgery, North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center, Division of Trauma and Critical Care

Department of Microbiology and Immunology

UNC Health Care Respiratory Care