Skip to main content

At its annual graduation banquet on Friday, June 3rd 2022, the Department honored the achievements and completion of Orthopaedic Surgery training of its five departing residents. Residents, fellows and faculty gathered at the University’s Carolina Inn to celebrate the end of the academic year and to award resident and teaching faculty honors in research, education and leadership.

At the daylong Annual R. Beverly Raney Visiting Professorship and Orthopaedic Conference preceding the graduation banquet, UNC Orthopaedics’ five senior residents each presented a faculty-mentored investigative project. Every year, graduating residents present a culminating scholarly project at this forum that demonstrates his/her competence in leading research that advances orthopaedic science.  At the banquet Friday night, Ryan Barnes was named the 2022 Resident Research Award recipient for his Raney Lecture presentation. Each year, this award is given to the senior resident who has demonstrated excellence in presentation and in development of his/her investigative project.

Like many UNC School of Medicine departments, UNC Orthopaedics honors a clinical faculty member for excellence in teaching at each annual graduation banquet. This year, 5th-year residents chose UNC Hand & Microsurgery Division Chief and Associate Professor Dr. Megan Patterson as the Frank Wilson Award recipient for her exceptional contributions to their learning over five years of residency training.

UNC Orthopaedics also recognizes exceptional leadership among its departing seniors. At each graduation banquet, the William C. Patton Teaching Award is given to the Chief Resident who made the greatest contributions to the education of fellow residents and medical students during his/her Chief Resident rotation. In 2022, all UNC Orthopaedics residents selected fifth-year resident Dr. Josh Shapiro as the recipient of the 2022 Patton Award.

Five UNC Orthopaedics residency graduates transition to fellowship now, entering competitive subspecialty programs across the U.S.:

Colleen Balkam            Anderson Orthopaedic Research Institute — Alexandria, VA
(Adult Reconstruction)
Josh Shapiro                 Anderson Orthopaedic Research Institute — Alexandria, VA
(Adult Reconstruction)
Chinmay Paranjape    Rady Children’s Hospital – University of CA, San Diego
(Pediatric Orthopaedics)
Ryan Barnes                  Ohio State Department of Orthopaedics — Columbus, OH
(Sports Medicine)
Karly Lorbeer                University of Pittsburgh Medical Center — Pittsburgh, PA
(Hand Surgery)

At the banquet, UNC Orthopaedics Chair and Frank C. Wilson Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery Dr. James Sanders presented departing residents their graduation certificates and acknowledged their future plans and the support of their families and spouses during their residency training.

Dr. Sanders noted: “Our senior residents have each matched into top fellowships after completing their residencies during one of the most challenging periods in recent times.  They are well-educated, astute, and talented group who make us proud to be Tar Heel Orthopaedists!”

PHOTO: UNC Orthopaedics 5th-year graduates (L to R): Drs. Karly Lorbeer, Ryan Barnes, Colleen Balkam, Josh Shapiro, Chinmay Paranjape