Skip to main content

David Ollila Receives Award From the John Wayne Cancer Foundation (JWCF)

September 9, 2021

Congratulations to David Ollila, MD, James and Jesse Millis Distinguished Professor in the Division of Surgical Oncology and Endocrine Surgery. Dr. Ollila received an Award from the John Wayne Cancer Foundation (JWCF) for the project entitled “Artificial Intelligence-Aided Digital Pathology to Improve Diagnosis in Metastatic Melanoma.” The award is for $25,000 from 8/1/2021 thru 7/31/2022. … Continued

Stephanie Downs-Canner Receives 2020-2021 Craver Medical Student Teaching Award

August 26, 2021

It is with great pleasure we announce that Dr. Stephanie Downs-Canner, Assistant Professor in the Division of Surgical Oncology has been chosen by the Academy of Educators as the recipient of the 2020-2021 Craver Medical Student Teaching Award. Joseph M. Craver, M.D. ’67, a retired Thoracic Surgeon in Atlanta, GA, gifted the Craver Medical Student … Continued

Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching Awards

August 26, 2021

Vascular Resident Dr. Colby Ruiz and PGY 1 Preliminary Intern Dr. Julia Button received Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching Awards at the 2021 UNC School of Medicine’s Whitehead Lecture and Awards ceremony on August 4.

Joseph Kearney, MD, receives AHPBA 2021 Steve Sotsky Award

July 17, 2021

Dr. Kearney is a recipient of the Americas Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association 2021 Steve Sotsky Award. This annual award recognizes outstanding work in the field of pancreatic research by a trainee. This award was created in memory of the father of AHPBA member, Dr. Tara Sotsky Kent. Mr. Steve Sotsky died of pancreatic cancer in September 2013. … Continued

5 Years of Best Clinical Clerkship!

July 16, 2021

For the 5th year in a row, Luigi Pascarella, MD, Clerkship Director, along with Drs. Barnhouse and Klipstein won an award from the UNC School of Medicine Student Government. Their course titled “Hospital, Interventional, and Surgical Care” was selected by the Class of 2022 as this year’s recipient of the Best Clinical Clerkship. This award … Continued

Dr. Meredith Kugar Wins Cefalo House Officer Award

July 2, 2021

Congratulations to Meredith Kugar, MD, Plastics PGY5, for receiving the Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Award, which recognizes members of the Hospitals’ house staff. Dr. Kugar was selected based on her demonstrated empathy for patients and their families, effectiveness in patient communications, advocacy for patient care, and professionalism. We are proud to have her represent the … Continued

Spanheimer Receives SOM Physician-Scientist Award

June 29, 2021

Dr. Philip Spanheimer is one of six scholars who will receive support from the UNC School of Medicine Physician Scientist Training Program (PSTP). This program is a pipeline to recruit, train and retain the most promising individuals to our clinical training programs where they will receive mentorship and support to foster their research careers. Spanheimer’s … Continued

Medical Honor Society, Alpha Omega Alpha, Inducts 8 Surgery Faculty and Residents

May 28, 2021

We are pleased to congratulate our department members recently inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA). This prestigious accomplishment is indicative of their scholarship, leadership, professionalism and service. Membership in the national society is a lifelong honor available to medical students, residents, fellows, faculty members, alumni, clinicians, and distinguished leaders in medicine who, based on merit, … Continued