Skip to main content

Congratulations to our New Trainees!

March 15, 2019

Congratulations to all of our new trainees! General Surgery Residents | PGY1 Ursula Adams University of North Carolina Jingjing “Selena” An Duke University Anoosh Bahraini Medical College of Georgia Taylor Carter Univ. of Missouri-Kansas City           Megan Lombardi Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine Hannah Trembath University of Iowa Sarah Weiner Univ. … Read more

Melina Kibbe, MD, Wins Women Leaders in Medicine Award

March 13, 2019

Melina Kibbe, MD, Colin G. Thomas Jr. Distinguished Professor and Chair Department of Surgery was honored with the 12th Annual Women Leaders in Medicine Award! The leaders of the American Medical Student Association (AMSA) selected Dr. Kibbe as one of the recipients of the 12 Annual Women Leaders in Medicine Awards! The award recognizes women physicians … Read more

Stephanie Downs-Canner, MD, Receives Faculty Research Fellowship

March 6, 2019

Congratulations to Stephanie Downs-Canner, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery in the Division of Surgical Oncology. Dr. Downs-Canner received a Faculty Research Fellowship for her research project entitled, “Inhibition of Th17 into Treg conversion as a novel component of immunotherapy in triple negative breast cancer” from the American College of Surgeons. Her research will be funded … Read more

Gita Mody, MD, Selected to Receive a TSF Research Award

March 5, 2019

Congratulations to Gita Mody, MD, who was recently selected to receive a TSF Research Award. Dr. Mody was selected by The Thoracic Surgery Foundation (TSF) for her project entitled, “Improving Lung Cancer Surgery Using Patient Centered Outcomes” in the amount of $80,000 for the period July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2021. The mission of the TSF … Read more

Congratulations to the IHQI 2019-2020 Improvement Scholars

March 1, 2019

Congratulations to Joanna Grudziak, MD, MPH, PGY 5 General Surgery Resident and Michael Phillips, MD, Pediatric Surgeon who were selected as 2019-2020 Improvement Scholars. Only six projects were selected by the UNC Institute for Healthcare Quality Improvement (IHQI) to be supported through the IHQI Improvement Scholars Program for the period Sept. 1, 2019 – Aug. 31, … Read more

#HEFORSHE: A Call for Action

February 21, 2019

Apoorve Nayyar, MD is a breast surgery research fellow at University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He is a proud member of the AWS, a proponent of #HeForShe in medicine and shares his latest blog post on the Role of HeForShe in gender equity with the Association of Women Surgeons.   “With its unusually large … Read more