Skip to main content

Watch Our Graduation Video!

June 14, 2021

The Department of Surgery graduated 6 fellows and 10 residents at a ceremony on Friday evening. Our congratulations go to Dr. Staci Aubry, Dr. Lauren Daugherty, Dr. Stephanie Gray, Dr. Ronald Hardin, Dr. Jeffrey Johnson, Dr. Mia Klein, Dr. Jeffrey Lipman, Dr. Peter Marcinkowski, Dr. Anna Pavlov, Dr. Micah Pherson, Dr. Karishma Reddy, Dr. Manuel … Read more

Joshua Herb Receives Pope Clinical Trainee Award

June 4, 2021

Dr. Joshua Herb, General Surgery Resident, was honored with a prestigious Pope Clinical Trainee Award, given to senior fellows who demonstrate excellence in cancer research and clinical care. Nominations for this competitive selection are voted on by all Department Chairs and Division Chiefs of cancer-related clinical and research areas. The awards are supported by the … Read more

Congratulations Stephanie Gray, MD, General Surgery Resident PGY5, Class of 2000 Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching Award Recipient

August 19, 2020

Stephanie Gray, MD, General Surgery Resident, has been selected by the Class of 2021 as this year’s Surgery Intern recipient of The Class of 2000 Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching Award. This award honors the interns and residents deemed by the third year class to be the most outstanding in each of the seven core clerkships. … Read more

Mia Klein, MD, Wins First Place

July 22, 2019

Mia Klein, MD, 4th-year Surgical Resident, won first place for the North Carolina chapter of the American College of Surgeons as well as best trauma presentation overall. The conference was held at Pinehurst on July 19th. The name of her presentation was “Development of Optimized Tissue Factor-Targeted Peptide Amphiphile Nanofibers to Slow Non-compressible Torso Hemorrhage”. … Read more

Congratulations to the IHQI 2019-2020 Improvement Scholars

March 1, 2019

Congratulations to Joanna Grudziak, MD, MPH, PGY 5 General Surgery Resident and Michael Phillips, MD, Pediatric Surgeon who were selected as 2019-2020 Improvement Scholars. Only six projects were selected by the UNC Institute for Healthcare Quality Improvement (IHQI) to be supported through the IHQI Improvement Scholars Program for the period Sept. 1, 2019 – Aug. 31, … Read more

#HEFORSHE: A Call for Action

February 21, 2019

Apoorve Nayyar, MD is a breast surgery research fellow at University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He is a proud member of the AWS, a proponent of #HeForShe in medicine and shares his latest blog post on the Role of HeForShe in gender equity with the Association of Women Surgeons.   “With its unusually large … Read more