Alumni Awards

2013 Award Recipients
2014 Award Recipients


Established in 1955 on the 75th anniversary of the founding of the School of Medicine the Distinguished Service Award was created to recognize those who had made important contributions to the establishment and early growth of the four-year medical school. The award was designed to honor alumni and friends whose distinguished careers and unselfish contributions to society have added luster and prestige to the University and its School of Medicine.

A committee appointed by the Dean of the School of Medicine selects the recipients from nominations solicited from medical school faculty and members of the Medical Alumni Association.

In 2009 the committee transformed the Distinguished Service Award to the Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award. The purpose of the Distinguished Medical Alumnus Award is to honor alumni who have significantly enhanced the reputation and prestige of the School of Medicine through their lifelong careers of service and accomplishment. Criteria for selection include excellence in professional and community leadership and service or exemplary contributions to the medical profession or to humankind of such importance as to merit national and international recognition.

The Distinguished Service Award will be awarded to non alumni to recognize governmental and community leadership which has contributed significantly to the mission of the medical school.

2014 Distinguished Medical Alumni Awards

Stephen E. Buie, MD '81

J. Tift Mann, MD '69

G. Earl Trevathan, MD '49

Richard A. Walsh, MD

2014 Distinguished Faculty Award

Stanley R. Mandel, MD

2014 Distinguished Service Award

George W. Cox, MD

Past Recipients of the Awards

Download a list of previous award recipients (pdf format)

How to Nominate

Download a copy of the nomination instructions letter (pdf format)