The APP Advisory Council was formed to support the APP Center in regards to processes of APP credentialing, competency, education, compliance, and consistency and expectations of patient services delivered by APPs within both UNC Hospitals and UNC School of Medicine at the UNC Medical Center entity of the UNC Health Care System. The Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Advisory Council has a membership comprised of APPs from various disciplines within UNC Health Care System, specifically the Medical Center. Disciplines are represented based on the number and areas of practice of those APPs within UNC Health Care. There are 14 total APP members including 7 NPs in Adult Critical Care, Pediatric Critical Care, Inpatient Adult, Inpatient Pediatrics, Outpatient Adult, Outpatient Pediatrics, 1 At-Large member; 2 CRNAs in Anesthesia; 3 PAs in Surgical unit, Inpatient, and Outpatient; 1 CPP – Outpatient; 1 CNM – At-Large.

APP Advisory Council

APP Council members

APP Communication Tree

Name Departments 
Paul Del Casino
Neurology, Neurology Adult, Neurosurgery
Sue Meier

Pediatrics: Neonatology
Eric Allman

Medicine:GI, Medicine:Geriatrics, Gen Med Inpatient, Medicine: Pulm Critical, Hospitalists
Danielle DiLorenzo

Medicine:ID, Medicine:Nephrology
Emily Freeman

Pediatrics:Primary, Pediatrics:Rheumatology, Pediatrics:Pulmonary
Lynne Farber

Pediatrics:Allergy, Pediatrics:GI, Pediatrics:Surgery, Pediatrics:Genetics/Metabolism, Neurosurgery, Neurology:Child
Tom Bush

Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Medicine:Rheumatology, Orthopaedics, Physical Medicine & Rehabiliation
Dell Strayhorn

Medicine:Hematology/Oncology, Pediatrics Hematology/Oncology, Radiation Oncology, Surgery/Oncology
Shirley Sopko and Amanda Greer

Anesthesiology, Oral Maxillofacial, ENT-Otolaryngology
Meg Beal

General Medicine:Outpatient Dermatology, Medicine:Cardiology, Radiology and VIR, Urology
Audrey Cook

Surgery: Abdominal/Transplant, Surgery:GI, Surgery:Trauma, Surgery:Plastics, Surgery:Vascular
Kathy Higgins

Obstetrics, CNMs
John Valgus

Medicine:Endocrinology, Psychiatry
Dan Hendrix

Surgery:Cardiothoracic, Surgery:Burn