Skip to main content

Department Chair Professor & Medical Student Research Director Adjunct Professor, Social Medicine and Epidemiology


Medical School:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

University of Pittsburgh
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Emergency Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA

Master's in Public Health:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
School of Public Health
Chapel Hill, NC


Areas of Interest

Emergency Medical Services, Access to Care, Health Literacy, Health Disparities, Pre-hospital Care, Stroke, Stroke Care in the Pre-hospital Area, Disaster Medicine

Learn More About The Research at UNC Emergency Medicine

Professional Societies & Memberships

  • President, National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP)
  • Society of Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM)
  • Fellow, American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
  • Emergency Medicine Resident’s Association (EMRA)
  • International Association of Flight & Critical Care Paramedics (IAFCCP)
  • American Heart Association (AHA)
  • American Public Health Association (APHA)
  • Deputy Editor, Prehospital Emergency Care
  • Decision Editor/Senior Reviewer, Annals of Emergency Medicine
  • Mid-Carolinas Trauma Regional Advisory Committee
  • Stroke Advisory Council
  • UNC Association for Carolina Emergency Response and Injury Prevention (ACERIP)
  • UNC School of Medicine Dean’s Advisory Council
  • UNC School of Medicine Admissions Committee
  • UNC Academy of Educators Teaching Excellence Awards Committee
  • UNC Faculty Practice Board of Directors
  • Medical Staff Executive Committee
  • Emergency Preparedness Committee

Special Honors & Awards

  • Roy ’62 and Christine Hayworth Medical Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professorship (2010-2014)
  • Fellow, Academy of Educators, UNC School of Medicine (2007-present)
  • Women Leaders in Medicine Award (2011)
  • Medical Student Research Mentor Award (2009)
  • Frank Porter Graham Honor Society (2005)
  • AAMC Humanism in Medicine Award (2005)
  • Alpha Omega Alpha (2004)
  • Prehospital emergency Care Editorial Excellence Award (2003)
  • Socrates Award, UNC - DEM (2001)
  • University of North Carolina School of Medicine Teaching Excellence Award (1999, 2001, 2004, 2005)
  • Jean Hollister Award, SAEM (1997)