Skip to main content

Professor and Chair Emeritus Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Health Policy & Administration, School of Public Health Lecturer, Medical Journalism, School of Journalism & Mass Communication


Dr. Tintinalli is Professor and Chair Emeritus of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She was founding Chair of the department and held the chairmanship from 1991 to 2007. She received her MD from Wayne State University, and completed residency training and received her MPH from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor.

Dr. Tintinalli was president of the American Board of Emergency Medicine from 1989 to 1990, was the founding president of the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors, and was chairman of the Liaison Residency Committee (forerunner of the ACME sponsored Residency Review Committee).

She is Editor-in-Chief of the world's largest selling emergency medicine textbook, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, with the 8th McGraw-Hill edition released in October, 2015, and is Editor-in-Chief of, the McGraw-Hill digital library for emergency medicine.

Dr. Tintinalli is also editor-in-chief of Emergency Physicians Monthly. She is co-editor of EMS: A Practical Global Guidebook, (PMPH, Sheldon, Connecticut), released in June 2010, and endorsed by the International Federation of Emergency Medicine.

She has been an editorial board member and a deputy editor of the Annals of Emergency Medicine. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, in 1997, and is a past President of the Association of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine.


Medical School:
Wayne State University
School of Medicine
Detroit, MI

University of Michigan
University of Michigan Health System
Internal Medicine
Ann Arbor, MI

Masters of Science in Public Health:
University of Michigan
School of Public Health
Biostatistics and Clinical Research Design
Ann Arbor, MI


Areas of Interest

Global Emergency Medicine

Learn More About The Research at UNC Emergency Medicine

Professional Societies & Memberships

  • American Board of Emergency Medicine
  • Association of Academic Chairs in Emergency Medicine
  • El Programa de Actualization Continua en Emergencias (PACE-MD)
  • American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
  • ACEP Ambassador to Poland

Special Honors & Awards

  • James Mill Meritorious Achievement Award, ACEP (1981)
  • Michiganian of the Year, Detroit News (1982)
  • National Education Award, ACEP (1990)
  • Leadership Award, Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) (1996)
  • Elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine (1997)
  • Tarheel of the Week, Raleigh News & Observer (2003)
  • Firsts and Founders, Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA) (2004)
  • Honorary Member of the Polish Society of Emergency Medicine (2005)
  • Honorary Member of the Chilean Society of Emergency Medicine (2006)
  • NC Emergency Physician of the Year (2007)
  • Hero of Emergency Medicine, ACEP (2008)
  • Peter Rosen Award, American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) (2008)
  • Honorary Emeritus Member of the Council of Emergency Medicine Directors (2010)
  • Faculty Recognition Award, International Federation for Emergency Medicine (IFEM) (2011)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education, UNC Academy of Educators (2013)
  • Berryhill Distinguished Lectureship, UNC School of Medicine (2013)