Skip to main content

carolina-care-excellenceUNC Health’s Patient Relations has announced the winners of this year’s Carolina Care Excellence Awards.

Patients were asked if they would recommend UNC Health providers and their offices to friends and family, and 173 UNC Faculty Physician providers received the highest possible rating, placing them in the top quartile nationally. In recognition of their caring excellence, these providers have been awarded the 2020 UNC Hospitals and Faculty Physicians Award for Carolina Care Excellence.

Of the 173 winning providers, 80 are from the UNC Department of Medicine. Congratulations to the following Carolina Care Excellence Award winners!


Alan Lee Hinderliter, MD
Alfredo C. Rivadeneira, MD
Amy W. Shaheen, MD
Amy Weil, MD
Anil Kishin Gehi, MD
Ashley P. Key, NP-C
Autumn Jackson McRee, MD
Bart Scott, PA-C, MPAS
Blaine Y. Brower, FNP
Brandi Reeves, MD
Carrie B. Lee, MD, MPH
Catherine Callaghan Coombs, MD
Christopher A. Klipstein, MD
Christopher Dittus, DO, MPH
Claire Larson, MD
Corrine A. Marshall, DNP, NP-C
Cristin Colford, MD
Danielle Maier, MPAS, PA-C
Darren DeWalt, MD, MPH
Deepa Kirk, MD
Edward L. Barnes, MD, MPH
Edwin R. Fuller, MD
Elizabeth Claire Dees, MD, MSc
Elizabeth Harris, MD
Elizabeth M. Prata, FNP-BC
Ellina K. Max, CPP
Eric L. Klett, MD
Gerald A. Hladik, MD
H. Claire West, MD
Hanna Kelly Sanoff, MD, MPH
Hans Herfarth, MD
Hendrik W. van Deventer, MD, MS
Hyman Muss, MD
James W. Hathorn, MD
Jan Busby-Whitehead, MD
Janet Rubin, MD
Jared Weiss, MD
John B. Buse, MD, PhD
John Paul Vavalle, MD, MHS
John Stephen (Steve) Kizer, MD
Joseph Stuart Rossi, MD, MSCI, FACC, FSCAI
Julie MacMillan Lewis, ANP
Karen Kimel-Scott, MD
Katherine Bergamo, FNP-C
Kim L. Isaacs, MD
Kirkwood Floyd Adams, MD
Kunal P. Patel, MD, PhD
L. Jason (Jason) Lobo, MD
Manish Saha, MD
Martha Dell (Dell) Strayhorn, MPH, FNP-C
Matthew Aaron (Matt) Cavender, MD, MPH
Matthew I. Milowsky, MD
Maureen C. Dale, MD
Megan K. Sterlina, PA-C
Melissa A. Matson, NP
Meredith Gilliam, MD, MPH
Michael (Brad) Drummond, MD, MHS
Michael S. Lee, MD
Mildred Kwan, MD, PhD
Millie D. Long, MD, MPH
Nicholas J. Shaheen, MD
Paul Chelminski, MD, MPH
Paula Freeman Miller, MD
Peadar G. Noone, MB BCh BAO, MD, FCCP, FRCPI
Raj Sundar Kasthuri, MBBS, MD
Randal Detwiler, MD
Ronald J. Falk, MD
Ross Joseph Simpson Jr., MD, PhD
Rumey C. Ishizawar, MD, PhD
Scott M. Elliott, PA
Scott Palmer Commins, MD, PhD
Shana C.W. Brye, MSN, RN, FNP-BC
Shana Ratner, MD
Shetal A. Patel, MD, PhD
Simon Khagi, MD
Stergios J. Moschos, MD
Thelsa Thomas Weickert, MD
Thomas C. Keyserling, MD, MPH
Timothy S. Carey, MD, MPH
Vimal K. Derebail, MD, MPH